Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was a wonderful base recipe for this classic dish!Any one can customize it to their taste. I used chicken thighs and pork smoked sausage. I also used canned drained great northern beans and pinto beans. I added a chicken boullion cube and chicken broth instead of wine. I love herb blends so I used a country herb blend and poultry seasoning. I love spice so I used seaasoning salt and red pepper flakes. I added celery, carrots, and chunked tomatoes. It was a fabulous meal. I served it with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marvywall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Let's face it, dishes made in the slow cooker are rarely as good as food that's cooked on the stove, in the oven, or grilled. This recipe is worth its weight. I used chicken stock in lieu of white wine, and turkey kilbaska in lieu or pork. I cooked it 10 hours on low. It wasn't dry or bland. Yes, it will taste better if you take the time to saute the kilbaska and onion beforehand. But, as written, this meal is simple, nutritious, and perfect for a busy work day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was excellent! I used a chardonnay for this and let it simmer for about six hours on low. I did serve it with the crusty bread and a nice green salad. I had enough liquid in the slow cooker to make this stew-like and the flavors were wonderful. I did use regular kielbasa, which is not as figure friendly, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was really nothing to write home about. I had a good flavor but the beans did nothing for us. Just gave a weird texture. My husband and I ended thowing most of it out because no one would finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahsuemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is a great dish and I make it often. I will put it into the crockpot just before we leave for church and when we get home it is perfectly done. I rarely have more than a bean left over. The flavor is wonderful and I haven't had to change a thing. The turkey kielbasa keeps the calories and fat down but the flavor doesn't suffer. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was suprprisingly good! Even my husband liked it, and he usually objects to anything with beans in it. The only thing I did differently was I used Thyme instead of parsley (I like thyme). The flavors just melded together really nicely, it was easy, and even the kids liked it! And when I asked, "should I make this again?" I got three 'yes'es!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
As written I am giving this recipe a 3, but it has potential to be a 5 star. Thanks to other reviewers I added more seasoning--2 onions and four cloves of garlic as well as 2 teaspoons of Old Bay seasoning. I cut back on the salt. The liquid was a bit of a problem. I started out adding the 1/3 cup of wine, but soon realized that more liquid was needed. I then added about a cup of chicken stock as one reviewer suggested, but that may have been too much as the end product was almost like soup. I would suggest adding an additional 1/2 cup of liquid and see if that is enough. I served over rice and it was very tasty and quite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
The flavor was good once I added a cup of chicken stock and 1/2 cup wine. Otherwise it was dry and disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Like others I used chicken legs rather than breasts, because it tastes better. Also, I started out with dry beans rather than canned, which gave me a lot more control over the end flavor. I used beef broth, chicken broth, and white wine, in equal parts to cook my beans in. Then I added 3 baby leeks finely chopped in place of half of the onion, and added 1/2 TBSP of thyme. It was amazingly delicious! Cassoulet is one of those dishes that everyone has their own recipe for, so I think this recipe is more to let people know that it can be made in a slow cooker and give us the times and ratios, which I appreciate greatly. As far as the "dryness" others complained of, cassoulet isn't soup. This is the texture it's supposed to be. Thanks so much cooks4forty for this innovative and unusually healthful take on cassoulet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I liked it, but my husband and teenage son were not enthusiastic. My son thought it was too soupy; my husband thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States