Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
It has been a couple of weeks since I have made this one. I was going to make it again before rating it. However although my husband liked it, his friend liked it more and took home the leftovers. I can't say I didn't like it but I didn't like ti well enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Just ok. We have a ton left over, and I think I'm going to have to eat the rest of it. I just didn't "get" this recipe. Needed a sauce or something to bring it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I agree with Cooks4Fun; this recipe is definitely a jumping off point for something even better. I've used other recipes for Cassoulet, but always end up putting my spin on it. It's a basic recipe that you can tweak to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Having read the other reviews, I took the recipe as a jumping off point and improvised from there. I DID brown the chicken, added plenty of pepper but no salt along with some fresh rosemary & thyme as well as herbes de Provence. Also, I added some finely diced carrot & celery, a can of diced tomatoes & LOTS of parsley. At the end I ladled the juices into a pan and reduced them by about half. The end result was delicious! I wish that I had an alternative to Kielbasa which I use in other recipes but don't really like very much. I also regret serving the Cassoulet over noodles as one reviewer had suggested. Next time it will go straight into the bowl. Thanks, cooks4forty, for giving us a great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks4Fun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
We made this in our trailer while we were camping. The smell was incredible. We thought we would have leftovers, but everyone wanted a taste and well none was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was very good... a little on the salty side..I took the advice of other reviewers and cut down on the amount of chicken ...I also added 1cup of chicken broth...very glad I did it gave just the right amount of liquid...and added a few herbs as others suggested as well...will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very nice. Made excellent soup with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This almost reminded me of a white chicken chili. It had a good hearty flavor and was comforting on a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was ok, but it turned out pretty bland and the chicken was dry (no idea how this happend in a slow cooker!) I may try again and add some more seasonings like basil and a bay leaf, and definitely increase the beans and halve the amount of chicken. It is very, very chickeny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States