Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was very good... a little on the salty side..I took the advice of other reviewers and cut down on the amount of chicken ...I also added 1cup of chicken broth...very glad I did it gave just the right amount of liquid...and added a few herbs as others suggested as well...will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very nice. Made excellent soup with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This almost reminded me of a white chicken chili. It had a good hearty flavor and was comforting on a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was ok, but it turned out pretty bland and the chicken was dry (no idea how this happend in a slow cooker!) I may try again and add some more seasonings like basil and a bay leaf, and definitely increase the beans and halve the amount of chicken. It is very, very chickeny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was delicious!!! You definitely want to make sure you have some crusty bread. The next day I took the leftovers, layered them in a baking dish with thinly sliced potatoes and swiss cheese and cooked just until the potatoes were done and the cheese bubbly. It was also fabulous. Will definitely be making again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My family thoroughly enjoyed this. I pretty much followed the recipe, but I could tell there wouldn't be enough beans for me. I used about 4 cups Great Northern beans which I had cooked from dried, with about 1/2 cup of their liquid. I thought my onions were small, but I used 3, about 2-1/2" diam. I removed the chicken and shredded it and added it back to the pot (I think true cassoulet has chicken pieces), but I could easily cut the chicken in half. Flavor was better the second day, and nice and onion-y. Next time I will add a bit of Herbes de Provence for richer seasoning. But I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I gave one star because it was easy as author stated. Used chicken broth instead of white wine, otherwise followed recipe. We found it way too bland with too much bean taste. The chicken was mushy instead of tender. The broth was just bean flavored juice. I served with a crusty delicious french bread. The bread was great, the other not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani Le

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Wasn't real pretty to look at, but tasted good. I only used 1 can of beans (navy). I did have to add more liquid through the day of cooking (chicken broth every once in awhile to prevent from drying out. I did add celery and some poultry season and old bay like other people suggested. Served with rice on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Way too salty and all i could taste was the kielbasa. Won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States