Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I agree with Cooks4Fun; this recipe is definitely a jumping off point for something even better. I've used other recipes for Cassoulet, but always end up putting my spin on it. It's a basic recipe that you can tweak to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Having read the other reviews, I took the recipe as a jumping off point and improvised from there. I DID brown the chicken, added plenty of pepper but no salt along with some fresh rosemary & thyme as well as herbes de Provence. Also, I added some finely diced carrot & celery, a can of diced tomatoes & LOTS of parsley. At the end I ladled the juices into a pan and reduced them by about half. The end result was delicious! I wish that I had an alternative to Kielbasa which I use in other recipes but don't really like very much. I also regret serving the Cassoulet over noodles as one reviewer had suggested. Next time it will go straight into the bowl. Thanks, cooks4forty, for giving us a great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks4Fun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
We made this in our trailer while we were camping. The smell was incredible. We thought we would have leftovers, but everyone wanted a taste and well none was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was very good... a little on the salty side..I took the advice of other reviewers and cut down on the amount of chicken ...I also added 1cup of chicken broth...very glad I did it gave just the right amount of liquid...and added a few herbs as others suggested as well...will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very nice. Made excellent soup with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This almost reminded me of a white chicken chili. It had a good hearty flavor and was comforting on a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was ok, but it turned out pretty bland and the chicken was dry (no idea how this happend in a slow cooker!) I may try again and add some more seasonings like basil and a bay leaf, and definitely increase the beans and halve the amount of chicken. It is very, very chickeny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was delicious!!! You definitely want to make sure you have some crusty bread. The next day I took the leftovers, layered them in a baking dish with thinly sliced potatoes and swiss cheese and cooked just until the potatoes were done and the cheese bubbly. It was also fabulous. Will definitely be making again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My family thoroughly enjoyed this. I pretty much followed the recipe, but I could tell there wouldn't be enough beans for me. I used about 4 cups Great Northern beans which I had cooked from dried, with about 1/2 cup of their liquid. I thought my onions were small, but I used 3, about 2-1/2" diam. I removed the chicken and shredded it and added it back to the pot (I think true cassoulet has chicken pieces), but I could easily cut the chicken in half. Flavor was better the second day, and nice and onion-y. Next time I will add a bit of Herbes de Provence for richer seasoning. But I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States