Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I'd actually give this 3 stars for when I followed the recipe exactly as written; maybe I did something wrong but the chicken was very dry and the beans were mushy, but the overall flavor was good. With a few changes, I give it 5 stars. I doubled the wine, skipped the salt, added a can of diced tomatoes, a couple tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, and 1/4 tsp thyme and waited to add the beans until 1-2 hours before serving. Most important, I used whole chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts so they were MUCH more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Reviewed the wrong recipe. Sorry. I do have it saved to make this fall or winter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I loved it. I used ground pork sausage instead because it is what I had. It was extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was ok, not bad, just not very distinguisable from other dishes I've made recently. It would have been better if I had added potatos instead of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
It has been a couple of weeks since I have made this one. I was going to make it again before rating it. However although my husband liked it, his friend liked it more and took home the leftovers. I can't say I didn't like it but I didn't like ti well enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Just ok. We have a ton left over, and I think I'm going to have to eat the rest of it. I just didn't "get" this recipe. Needed a sauce or something to bring it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I agree with Cooks4Fun; this recipe is definitely a jumping off point for something even better. I've used other recipes for Cassoulet, but always end up putting my spin on it. It's a basic recipe that you can tweak to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Having read the other reviews, I took the recipe as a jumping off point and improvised from there. I DID brown the chicken, added plenty of pepper but no salt along with some fresh rosemary & thyme as well as herbes de Provence. Also, I added some finely diced carrot & celery, a can of diced tomatoes & LOTS of parsley. At the end I ladled the juices into a pan and reduced them by about half. The end result was delicious! I wish that I had an alternative to Kielbasa which I use in other recipes but don't really like very much. I also regret serving the Cassoulet over noodles as one reviewer had suggested. Next time it will go straight into the bowl. Thanks, cooks4forty, for giving us a great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks4Fun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
We made this in our trailer while we were camping. The smell was incredible. We thought we would have leftovers, but everyone wanted a taste and well none was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States