Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
reasonalbe starting place, i use red wine, whatever i'm going to drink for dinner. It needs another onion, it needs a pound of chunked carrots. I use beans soaked over nite, northern white usually, needs lots of spices, someone suggested tyme, excellent, sweet basil, rosemary - all good. it wont work without wine, i agree. I use chicken thighs, and lamb sausage or sweet Italian. Add some chopped celery in the last 30 minutes. and a can of tomatoes, whatever is in the cupboard. my favorite are stewed Italian. if you have time check the amount of juice in the last hour, this is not intended to be a stew, as others have noted. I have not seen an advantage to cooking this in a slow cooker over a slow oven. Unless you do not have an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I tweaked this. Used picked rotisserie chicken and bulk chicken sausage and chicken broth instead of wine. Added chicken about an hour before done and cooked till thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Outstanding. Used some smoked turkey meat for added flavor. Keeps very well in refrigerator. Better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I first made this as written, but when I tasted it during the last hour of cooking, I thought it was missing something! So I ended up adding 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke, 1 cup of chicken broth because it was a little dry, 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and 4 oz. of cream cheese! These additions really boosted the flavor and texture! It made it a more smokey, creamy cheesy, hearty dish! I served it over egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I just made this Cassoulet for my daughters French class feast. I did use thighs instead of breast and chicken broth instead of white wine. I also seasoned the chicken to my taste prior to putting it in the crock pot. I had to drop it off at the school so I didn't get to taste it prior. When my daughter got out of school, she told me it was "amazing" all the kids loved it and she wanted me to make some for dinner. So it was a big hit!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I would probably add more beans because they are so creamy and with that turkey kielbasa they get a nice smoky flavor. Nice and light comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This recipe is a big yes. Every recipe is flexible; I take "to your taste" very seriously. With that in mind, I knew the kielbasa wasn't what I wanted. I used italian sausage -- the mild, or "sweet" kind, not hot Italian. (Although, I think that might be good too, in a different way.) Many people (most men) don't care for breast meat because it tends to be bland and dry. I use boneless thighs. Garlic: use more, or add it for the last hour or two. Garlic flavor cooks away. Many seasonings do. Crock-pot: don't lift the lid, don't stir, do not disturb. Suppress your natural cook's tendency to check the pot. Slow-cookers only work one way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I found this boring. Too many beans; missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was very bland. I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly. Did not taste anything like an authentic cassoulet. I'm sure with some tweaking it could improve, but I wouldn't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made it just as the recipe shows, except for the parsley - I subbed dried as I didn't have any fresh. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States