Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Ok. Made this tonight. Would rate 4.5 stars if that were an option. Changes: Used chicken thighs instead of breasts - whole - because that's what we like. Used 1 tsp thyme instead of parsley. Added 1 cup chicken broth (no wine) in anticipation of all the wonderful juices to dip toasted rustic bread into. Cooked 7 hours. Perfect! Will make again - easy and comforting and adaptable to individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Tried this tonight...delicious. I did think it was a little too salty, though, so I added a medium size can of sauerkraut at the end. We thought it was just the right touch. I'll make this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
SIX stars for this one! Loved, loved, loved it. It's cruised to the top of our "keeper" list. Served with saffron rice and zucchini. I used Sweet Onion Wine from LaBelle Winery (in NH), a dry white with vidalia tones. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Fabulous Recipe.... Added carrots and mushrooms. Made with wine.. Thanks for sharing this great MEAL WILL MAKE AGAIN for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagecreeked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Westbank, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
5 Stars! But I did make a couple changes to suit my family. First, used mild italian sausage and browned meats before adding to crock pot - not necessary, but does add a nice flavor. Second - Added 1 cup chicken stock along with the wine for more sauce. Last - thickened the juices with water and corn starch before serving. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Great recipe. Made no real changes except no wine in the house, used chicken broth, the rest of the can of broth I mixed in with the next day leftovers. Had an Easter hambone in the freezer, threw that in to use it up. Really good with the Italian Bread using a Bread Machine recipe that Destiny posted on this site. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was good, but too salty. I will make again and omit salt entirely. Could not find cannellini beans - used butter beans and they were excellent. Could not find turkey kielbasa so used regular but the low fat kind. Very good with some tweaking, and certainly very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this for my husband and he absolutely loved it. When I first told him the ingredients, he felt it would be bland. After tasting it he enjoyed it quite alot. He didn't even add hot sauce to it, which he adds to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Good slow cooker recipe, but it had a lot of meat compared to the other ingredients. Adding one more can of beans would help round it out a bit and maybe reduce the chicken to 1 1/2 lbs. I substituted 1 tsp. dried thyme for the parsley. At 5 hours the chicken was overcooked but the cassoulet wasn't thickened yet. Good flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Yum! I didn't add parsley but added a tsp or so of dried thyme. I served it with roasted potatoes and sauteed cabbage. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States