Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a huge hit in my home. I made it for dinner and we all loved it. It was delicious! And I am sure I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, except for omiting the salt and for adding 1 chicken bullion cube into it. It disolved nicely and it added the salt the recipe called for. I served it with honey brandied baby carrots and homemade fruit cocktail along with french bread and honey butter. My girlfriend's family loved it, and it was a easy menu to do buffet style, informal, yet understated elegance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
A good addition to my recipe box...husband liked it a lot although the kids were not crazy about the chicken. The chicken DID come out kind of dry - and I followed directions. Next time I might mix the chicken into the sausage and beans more, or will brown it slightly first to seal in juices. It had a stronger flavor than I had anticipated but was very filling and easy to make. I'll try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I liked the taste but mine was very dry. I may have cooked it too long. I think I will try it again and cook less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I didn't like this. The texture and look were bland and the flavor unpalateable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was just okay in my book. After reading the reviews before making this, I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and omitted the salt completely but still felt it was too salty (due to the keilbasa). One other change I made was that I put my boneless, skinless chicken breast halves in whole - which kept them moist and juicy. When they were done, I was able to just break up the breasts into bite sized chunks with a fork. Also - I subbed the dry wine for chicken broth because its what I had on hand. I would probably make this again someday, but will probably omit the kielbasa completely or sub it with meat all toghether. All in all, not bad - but not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe was disapointing. I thought as it was, it was dry and not very flavorful. I ended up using more spices and herbs and adding chicken broth and twice as much wine. I won't make it again. I'd rather have bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Really good recipe with a little tweaking. The cassoulet recipe I usually use is not a slow cooker one so this turned out to be helpful. I used 2 pkgs of Polish Kielbasa, chicken breat tenderloins that I chopped into chunks, and instead of wine, I used organic veggie broth. I add a little more than 2 cups of the broth so it has more of a "stoup" consistency. Usually I use giant butter beans but I was out so today my cassoulet was beanless. :) I also add bacon crumbled on top. MMmmmm, not healthy but sure will be good on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liztx8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Eh.. this was fair - I thought it was relatively decent, but my husband yucked at it. I used chorizo as was suggested in a review... it gave a nice smoky flavor but it got very crumbly, almost sawdusty weird texture. Here are some changes I made: during the last 2 or so hours of cooking, I threw a package of frozen potato-onion pierogies on top of the mix to add in a carb. Also I served it with crispy french fried onions when i plated it up. I didn't have parsely so I used fresh rosemary as the cooking spice and added some italian seasoning. Here's what I would do if I make this again (which honestly I doubt I will..): instead of using actual sausage, I would suggest a nice smoky ham bone... and for some reason I kept thinking this was crying for okra. I would suggest adding maybe a tad more liquid too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Faith Manka
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Loved the recipe, house smelled so good all day. Topped mine with some oven roasted asparagus just to make sure we got our vegetables. Did slow cook for 8 hrs, and came out perfect. Bought a loaf of french bread just like suggested, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Faith Manka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States