Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Like others I used chicken legs rather than breasts, because it tastes better. Also, I started out with dry beans rather than canned, which gave me a lot more control over the end flavor. I used beef broth, chicken broth, and white wine, in equal parts to cook my beans in. Then I added 3 baby leeks finely chopped in place of half of the onion, and added 1/2 TBSP of thyme. It was amazingly delicious! Cassoulet is one of those dishes that everyone has their own recipe for, so I think this recipe is more to let people know that it can be made in a slow cooker and give us the times and ratios, which I appreciate greatly. As far as the "dryness" others complained of, cassoulet isn't soup. This is the texture it's supposed to be. Thanks so much cooks4forty for this innovative and unusually healthful take on cassoulet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I liked it, but my husband and teenage son were not enthusiastic. My son thought it was too soupy; my husband thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
lacked flavor and I even added Herbs de Provence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Awesome! Used regular smoked sausage instead of turkey sausage and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was not good at all. Horrible combination (sausage and chicken).. We Gave the food away and went out to eat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prudwetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
After reading the reviews I was skeptical about this but went ahead and made it anyways. I made it pretty much exactly as written except used chicken broth instead of wine, therefore I did NOT add any salt. This came out pretty good, tasted kind of like bean soup with sausage and chicken in it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I give this one star for how easy it was to throw together and let cook all day, but I can honestly say that none of us would try it. It didn't even smell good. The combination of these ingredients just didn't work together. such a complete waste of money and food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Next time I'll add more wine to make more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was sooo delicious! I made it for my husband and 2 kids. Everybody LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Central Lake, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very flavorful but needed more liquid. Might make again but will make changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States