Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is a great recipe! Made exactly as stated the first time and was 5 star, but since then have made minor changes to taste. I use a full 20oz can of crushed pineapple, draining the juice, but measure it and use as part of the water. Have tried different kinds and amounts of sweetener, but finally decided it does not need any sweetener. I have never cared for hot cereal, but this recipe has changed that! This freezes very well in individual containers. Just pop one in the microwave, and your meal is ready! I just have to comment on some of the negative feedback: For those who thought it was not sweet enough, I guess they must have been using it for a dessert, not a healthy breakfast (plus if you really want all that added sugar it's pretty easy to add more at the table). For those who ended up with too much water, check to make sure you were using STEEL CUT oats. For the ones that said the matchstick carrots didn't cook, the recipe calls for SHREDDED carrots (which you can do yourself!) I have made this several times since finding the recipe, and it has always cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Despite so many negative reviews, I tried this anyway. I'm happy I did. The only other time I've made steel cut oats was with a recipe from this site (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-oats/detail.aspx). I compared the water called for in this recipe to the previous link, and the ratio of water to oats was much greater (probably why people were getting really watery oats.) Here's what I did that didn't really modify the recipe, and I was successful: I only made 1/2 a batch, so I started with 3 cups of water instead of 5. I could only find matchstick carrots at the store, so I put them in my food processor before adding to the crockpot (complaints about crunchy carrots in reviews). When they were done, the carrots were still pretty crunchy, but overnight in the fridge mellowed them out a bit before I had a bowl for breakfast. I checked on the oats hourly, and after about 4 hours I added 1 cup more water. They were done in about 5 hours... That's all I did and it worked great. Even though this is a slow cooker recipe, I still made sure I was home at night so I could check it... Now I know what works for my crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I used 1/4 brown sugar instead of sweetener as I don't like to give the kids artificial products. One taste and they refused to eat it... they said it was 'sour'. Also as another reviewer indicated, the carrots (matchsticks) remained crunchy. This caused complete mutiny at our house. The entire thing was also very runny... too much liquid. Sorry, not a hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Followed exactly and in the morning it was runny and watery, hard to find the oatmeal! Would not recommend this recipe as is. Ten cups water to two cups of oatmeal must not be correct ratio. Hope to find a use for this soupy oatmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Way too much liquid for our tastes. I followed the recipe only changing to less cinnamon and no sweetener. We just sprinkled on brown sugar when serving. I cooked for 7 hours on low in the crock pot. It makes a huge amount so now I am trying to decide if it is salvageable or if is going in the trash. Just way too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Runny, didn't really like the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as listed. If you don't want crunchy carrots, don't buy the 'matchstick' style shredded carrots and think they are going to cook. They were still crunchy in the oatmeal after 7 hours in the crockpot. Other than that, not impressed... way too much cinnamon or pumpkin spice. All I could taste was the cinnamon and the granular no-calorie sugar mixed with mush. If I ever made this again I would use the juice from the pineapple and double or triple the amount of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was the best oatmeal I've ever had! Even my husband loved it, and he is very difficult to impress with oatmeal. I followed the recipe, then added shredded coconut and a handful of extra raisins. We served it with whipped cream; it was fabulous! Simple to make, delicious to eat--with plenty of leftovers, too! I am always looking for a good recipe to use in my slow cooker, and this one definitely made the list! Thank you so much for sharing such a healthy, hearty breakfast treat! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Not very good. I ended up freezing the leftovers and using them to make Carrot Cake Oatmeal Muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States