Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This recipe came out perfectly. I used apple pie spice instead of pumpkin pie spice just because I don't like pumpkin pie. Also, instead of cooking it in the slow cooker, I cooked it on top of the stove on low heat in a non-stick deep 12 inch skillet. I let it boil for 5 minutes uncovered, then left it on simmer for 2 hours, covered. I made the rest of the brunch and cleaned house while this cooked. I stirred it every now and then to keep it from sticking, but otherwise it required very little monitoring. I was cooking for a group of about 10 people who are very active, they loved it. There were still leftovers which froze well. I don’t eat any type of oatmeal usually, but I plan to take this to work for my 10:00 snack. Using the non-stick skillet made clean up a snap but was not as convenient as the slow cooker. We will definitely make this again, even if it’s just to have my daily snack at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was good and we all liked it -- but good grief, don't use sucralose/splenda. Just use honey or even cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Owen Manske

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
WAAAY too much water. Tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Wow this was just amazing!! Cook the recipe as called for, just added coconut. My kids loved it and we froze some for some other mornings. Yummy Thank you for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Yummy!!! I used about 4-5 TBS brown sugar and no other sugar. Was still sweet. I'm trying to stay away from sugar substitutes and packaged foods when possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We thought this was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and will cut back on the sweetener next but overall we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I really wanted to like this, but just didn't. I followed the recipe, aside from cutting it down by size. I felt the cinnamon was overpowering and bitter. I finely grated my carrots and they were still "carrots" and a bit hard. I cooked this on low for almost 8 hours. It could just be me, but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
You must use STEEL CUT OATS in this recipe. These require a longer cooking time and a higher Oat to water ratio. The instructions on the steel cut oats box says 1 cup oats to 4 1/2 cups of water. This ratio works perfectly & is close to the ratio in this recipe. If you follow the instructions and use the ingredients required, I'm sure your end product will be far more to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe entirely. I did not like it. My family didn't either. It wasn't tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very sweet. Nothing special imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States