Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I wouldn't say that this tastes like carrot cake, but I will say that it tastes GREAT! I made half a recipe, and it cooked much faster than 6 hours, so you may want to start checking on it early. Next time, I probably will double the raisins and even use golden raisins for a little more eye-appealing presentation (the dark raisins sort of look like kidney or black beans in the oatmeal). I'll most likely add more pineapple, as that flavor was crazy good in this. IMO the spices are spot on. I served this with a dollop of honey greek yogurt and a sprinkle of chopped walnuts. I portioned out what I made today into freezer containers, so this should make for a healthy/nutritional/fast breakfast reheated in the microwave. Thanks DebbiKat for a recipe that makes the slow cooker a star (and, honestly, I'm not a slow cooker fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
5 stars. Delicious and healthy. I halved the recipe though and added more cinnamon and raisins. Great for before school healthy breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Perfect!! I used regular applesauce and zero sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is a great recipe! Made exactly as stated the first time and was 5 star, but since then have made minor changes to taste. I use a full 20oz can of crushed pineapple, draining the juice, but measure it and use as part of the water. Have tried different kinds and amounts of sweetener, but finally decided it does not need any sweetener. I have never cared for hot cereal, but this recipe has changed that! This freezes very well in individual containers. Just pop one in the microwave, and your meal is ready! I just have to comment on some of the negative feedback: For those who thought it was not sweet enough, I guess they must have been using it for a dessert, not a healthy breakfast (plus if you really want all that added sugar it's pretty easy to add more at the table). For those who ended up with too much water, check to make sure you were using STEEL CUT oats. For the ones that said the matchstick carrots didn't cook, the recipe calls for SHREDDED carrots (which you can do yourself!) I have made this several times since finding the recipe, and it has always cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This seemed to have so much promise, given the ingredients, and I loved the fact that it was so healthy, but I just didn't care for it. I followed the recipe exactly, and the shredded carrots were still carrots and hadn't softened into nothing, and the taste was tart and unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is awesome. My husband and my kids did too. My husband leaves for work at 5:30 and has some, then turns it off. When we get up and eat at 7:30 it is a perfect temperature. We love it with vanilla yogurt on top. Personally we think that the yogurt makes this recipe complete. I have had to play with the spices a bit due to not having what I need, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
We just loved this! We had a guy doing work at the house early Saturday morning and hubs asked me warm up 2 big bowls for them. Not eggs, sweet rolls or a big sandwich, OATMEAL! Lol!! I halved this and used a 5 qt slow cooker. It only took about 3 hours. I used the entire can of pineapple, didn't drain it and the full amount of raisins. I don't know what the sugar equivalent of the sugar substitute would be so I just added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead. It was just right, not too sweet. I keep this in containers in the frig, put what I want in a bowl, add milk and microwave a 1 1/2 minutes. Thank you! Great, fun recipe. I know my husband will request it often and I am happy to make for him!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup zante currants instead of 1cup raisins. I initially thought the amount of water (10cupes?) seemed a bit much, esp if you include the applesauce, but since I'd never cooked with steel cut oats, I figured it'll "drink" all the water up and be more like an oatmeal when done, I was wrong. After letting it cook for 6 hours (still looked like brown water in a crockpot) I cooked it for another 2 on low.. still watery and I tasted it this morning (let it cook over night) it was a soupy-watery mess with probably about 3 cups of liquid still left over. I had to dredge out the "oatmeal" from the bottom of the crockpot. All that water didn't get absorbed, or cook down.. its watery oatmeal. Smells great, but its not appealing at all. Was kinda hoping this would be the chance I'd get over my distaste for oatmeal with something yummy. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Despite so many negative reviews, I tried this anyway. I'm happy I did. The only other time I've made steel cut oats was with a recipe from this site (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-oats/detail.aspx). I compared the water called for in this recipe to the previous link, and the ratio of water to oats was much greater (probably why people were getting really watery oats.) Here's what I did that didn't really modify the recipe, and I was successful: I only made 1/2 a batch, so I started with 3 cups of water instead of 5. I could only find matchstick carrots at the store, so I put them in my food processor before adding to the crockpot (complaints about crunchy carrots in reviews). When they were done, the carrots were still pretty crunchy, but overnight in the fridge mellowed them out a bit before I had a bowl for breakfast. I checked on the oats hourly, and after about 4 hours I added 1 cup more water. They were done in about 5 hours... That's all I did and it worked great. Even though this is a slow cooker recipe, I still made sure I was home at night so I could check it... Now I know what works for my crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was the best oatmeal I've ever had! Even my husband loved it, and he is very difficult to impress with oatmeal. I followed the recipe, then added shredded coconut and a handful of extra raisins. We served it with whipped cream; it was fabulous! Simple to make, delicious to eat--with plenty of leftovers, too! I am always looking for a good recipe to use in my slow cooker, and this one definitely made the list! Thank you so much for sharing such a healthy, hearty breakfast treat! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States