Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I used 1/4 brown sugar instead of sweetener as I don't like to give the kids artificial products. One taste and they refused to eat it... they said it was 'sour'. Also as another reviewer indicated, the carrots (matchsticks) remained crunchy. This caused complete mutiny at our house. The entire thing was also very runny... too much liquid. Sorry, not a hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Followed exactly and in the morning it was runny and watery, hard to find the oatmeal! Would not recommend this recipe as is. Ten cups water to two cups of oatmeal must not be correct ratio. Hope to find a use for this soupy oatmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Way too much liquid for our tastes. I followed the recipe only changing to less cinnamon and no sweetener. We just sprinkled on brown sugar when serving. I cooked for 7 hours on low in the crock pot. It makes a huge amount so now I am trying to decide if it is salvageable or if is going in the trash. Just way too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Runny, didn't really like the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Made this recipe exactly as listed. If you don't want crunchy carrots, don't buy the 'matchstick' style shredded carrots and think they are going to cook. They were still crunchy in the oatmeal after 7 hours in the crockpot. Other than that, not impressed... way too much cinnamon or pumpkin spice. All I could taste was the cinnamon and the granular no-calorie sugar mixed with mush. If I ever made this again I would use the juice from the pineapple and double or triple the amount of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was the best oatmeal I've ever had! Even my husband loved it, and he is very difficult to impress with oatmeal. I followed the recipe, then added shredded coconut and a handful of extra raisins. We served it with whipped cream; it was fabulous! Simple to make, delicious to eat--with plenty of leftovers, too! I am always looking for a good recipe to use in my slow cooker, and this one definitely made the list! Thank you so much for sharing such a healthy, hearty breakfast treat! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Not very good. I ended up freezing the leftovers and using them to make Carrot Cake Oatmeal Muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm not a breadfast eater so while my kids were away, I set this up to have for dinner. It was great! It is also great for a dessert after a dinner meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is awesome. My husband and my kids did too. My husband leaves for work at 5:30 and has some, then turns it off. When we get up and eat at 7:30 it is a perfect temperature. We love it with vanilla yogurt on top. Personally we think that the yogurt makes this recipe complete. I have had to play with the spices a bit due to not having what I need, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States