Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Being from the Midwest we were always using Sweet Baby Ray's. After trying the pork I ended up using it on this recipe. I know it's a regional thing and everyone is raving about it, but I guess it's just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Aweful! Followed directions to a T. Tasted like vinager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenduffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made this today and I have to say my husband and I love that vinegar smell! Although my family is from NC so go figure just smells like BBQ to me but I can see how it would be overwhelming to others. But man this is good followed the recipe exactly with the addition of a tablespoon of liquid smoke per other reviewers and my after working all day outside this was a great treat with some green apple coleslaw that I got from a different website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
So very yummy! I love pulled pork and vinegar based Carolina barbecue sauce. We are in an apartment right now so I couldn't grill it, even if I knew how. This recipe is amazing. The only modification I used was to add 3 tbsp liquid smoke, as per other reviews, to really give it an authentic "bbq" taste. I made the sauce but didn't put the meat back in so the kids (who hate spicy) could enjoy this too. Good all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is the only recipe I use now. Moist and tender and an incredible taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegasusaj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arab, Alabama, USA
Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
A good recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDERR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I'm a Yankee, born and bred, but IMO, THIS is what barbeque should be!!! OK, I know that there are those who will debate this, but I've traveled a lot, eaten a lot of BBQ from all around the country and to me, Eastern NC BBQ, with the wonderful vinegar tang, is just "it." And this is one of the best recipes out there - and certainly the easiest! Agree with other posters that a little liquid smoke only improves the flavor, but it's still delicious as written. Oh man, now my mouth is watering again - looks like my crockpot is going to be busy again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I used a pork loin and increased the spices -- I like it spicy! Overall, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It's possible I left it in too long, because I had a 6.6 pound pork shoulder, but I think the result may still have been the same. Very appley flavored pork. I've had the amazing pork you get at some select restaurants around NC, where I live, and I certainly wasn't expecting this to be on that level, but this just ended up tasting like cafeteria barbeque. I should have guessed it wouldn't be great when all you marinate it in is apple cider vinegar, and then for the sauce, MORE apple cider vinegar with other stuff mixed in that can't hope to compete with the apple taste. Maybe I'll try the Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
YUM!! I've never had "BBQ" in this style before. I grew up on Texas BBQ, so I was skeptical, but it was fantastic! We made the recipe exactly as written, but then dressed it with roasted jalapenos for the heck of it (YUM again!). It was a bit too spicy for our 10-yr-old, but perfect for us... and as I said, we even added jalapenos LOL. We served our son's open-faced on a piece of buttered bread, without any extra "sauce" and it cooled the heat just enough and he really enjoyed this way. So no, not what *I* grew up calling BBQ, but definitely a new addition to our rotation of favorite crock-pot dishes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States