Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Super easy and delicious; you cant mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This turned out really well for us. I used a pork loin, and rubbed it with liquid smoke as well as hickory smoked salt and pepper, then loosely topped with aluminum foil in the slow cooker while cooking. I was pressed for time, so I cooked this on high for about 4 hours, then low for about 3 1/2 before shredding. Had I had more smoke flavor, this would have reminded me of when my dad dug a pit and slow cooked a pig when I was little. Fall apart tender and delicious. The vinegar smell was noticeable during the day, but not overpowering. Served this on homemade onion rolls with from scratch honey/molasses barbecue sauce for topping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Loved it! It's hard to find Carolina barbecue in these parts, and this hits the spot. I didn't find the vinegar overwhelming like some. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious! Always wanted to try Carolina style BBQ. Fell right of the bone. Very tender and flavorful. My kids loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Let me start with I love spicy food. However I followed the driections closely and found it was way too hot. I did add more brown sugar which calmed it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Woah...this was surprisingly really good. I followed the recipe almost to a "T" (adding a little extra pepper/salt/red pepper flake). As others have stated, as the vinegar heats up the smell is, as hubby puts it, RANCID. I LOVE vinegar flavor but the smell especially warm is pretty bad. However, I did follow the instructions and once I strained the pork and added the spices, the smell was pretty good. The pork turned out moist and flavorful especially the next day. Husband said it was even better after being in the fridge overnight. I'm not a "tarheel" (not even sure of what that is) but this was really tasty and a definite keeper. I wonder what the flavor would be changing up the vinegar for like pomegranate vinegar or um, red wine vinegar? One other small change I made, I let it cook on low for 4 hours then on high for 2 and again on low for 2 during the add spices and such. 12 hours is kinda long and after trimming the fat and such, I'm sure it wound up 5lbs or less (originally 7lbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Being from the Midwest we were always using Sweet Baby Ray's. After trying the pork I ended up using it on this recipe. I know it's a regional thing and everyone is raving about it, but I guess it's just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Aweful! Followed directions to a T. Tasted like vinager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenduffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made this today and I have to say my husband and I love that vinegar smell! Although my family is from NC so go figure just smells like BBQ to me but I can see how it would be overwhelming to others. But man this is good followed the recipe exactly with the addition of a tablespoon of liquid smoke per other reviewers and my after working all day outside this was a great treat with some green apple coleslaw that I got from a different website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
So very yummy! I love pulled pork and vinegar based Carolina barbecue sauce. We are in an apartment right now so I couldn't grill it, even if I knew how. This recipe is amazing. The only modification I used was to add 3 tbsp liquid smoke, as per other reviews, to really give it an authentic "bbq" taste. I made the sauce but didn't put the meat back in so the kids (who hate spicy) could enjoy this too. Good all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States