Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is delish & being a Carolina girl myself I would recommend a Boston Butt over the shoulder. The shoulder has more fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Tasted great, especially after being in the fridge. Next time I would add the spices for maybe the last hour of cooking and only add half the spices. 4/1/14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Having lived in North Carolina all my life, I really like good BBQ. This about as close as you can get without a smoker or pit. I cut down on the hot ingredients so it wouldn't be too spicy hot for my taste. Other than that, I followed the directions. I took it out of the slow cooker at the 10 hour mark as the internal temperature of the meat was 180 degrees. The meat just flaked off and was easy to shred. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I had been looking for a good pulled pork recipe that wasn't heavy on BBQ sauce and this was it. I did read all of the reviews and took it all into account. For the slow cooker process, I did use apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons of hickory liquid smoke, 1 tablespoon of sea salt and pepper. That cooked on low for 12 hours. It is true, that for the first little while, there is a strong vinegar smell. Don't let that discourage you, because as it cooks longer and the juice from the meat mixes with it, it just starts to smell really delicious. Once it was shredded, I did some adjustments with the spices also, as I didn't want to overdo it with the heat. I used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and 1 tablespoon red hot sauce. My husband loves the taste of this. We are looking forward to having it tonight in rolls with cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Lived in NC for 40 years and love bbq. This was as good as any I've had and better than most! I followed the recipe exactly. One thing I did was at the end after allowing it to sit in the sauce warming for an hour, I drained off the liquid so it would be dry to serve. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was a awesome recipe. It tasted really similar to my favorite BBQ place in North Carolina. The only thing I added was liquid smoke and halved the recipe because there is only two of us. Mine did not turn out spicy like other reviewers have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I'd give it 10 stars if I could. Since moving to the Carolina's we've come to really enjoy Carolina BBQ. However it is expensive so I saw this recipe and it is our new go to for amazing BBQ. We also add the liquid smoke which just gives it that extra authenticity. If we ever leave the Carolina's, this is something we'll always make! Thanks for the awesome recipe! Also the vinegar smell is not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
i absolutely LOVED this recipe. It's not the same as smoked BBQ but you knew that! I read some reveiws where they added some liquid smoke and I was going to do that because I thought that bottle in the back of my spice cabinet was liquid smoke (not!!). I took this to work potluck and the crock pot was practically licked clean. For the people who had an overwhelming vinegar smell - did you use distilled vinegar maybe? You have to use Apple Cider vinegar - my house smelled amazing. I cooked about a 7 - 7/12 pound pork shoulder (1 & 1/2 times the other ingredients) and my roast was pull-apart tender at about the 8 hour mark. I chopped my BBQ because that's just the way I like. I served it with slider buns and coleslaw - YUM. I'm thinking about making this for super bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
We are a family of pulled pork snobs. Usually done on the smoker and smothered in bbq sauce. This was different for us but we were all a fan. To win hubby's approval on this was a tall order and this recipe came through. Wouldn't change a thing. Served it with coleslaw recipe from this site. (no mayo) Outstanding! thanks coolmonkshoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States