Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
5 stars and I didn't even cook it per recipe. Actually, in my haste, I added all ingredients to slow cooker, got to the end of the recipe and OOPS! Oh, well...it was delicious. I did add the liquid smoke. When I served it, I heated up some Stubbs BBQ Sauce I had in the fridge and mixed it with some of the juices. I can't wait to find another pork shoulder on sale and try this again...according to the recipe. I'm betting it will be a 7 STAR recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So delicious and moist! I followed some of the reviewers' advice and added 3 tbsp of liquid smoke. I like my Carolina BBQ a little less spicy and only did 1 tsp each of the cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes - just enough for a little kick but not leaving my mouth on fire. This is my new favorite BBQ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Never made pulled pork before & never had Carolina BBQ before. This was easy & family liked it very much served on toasted onion buns & coleslaw. I used some BBQ sauce on the sandwich to add an extra kick. Thanks for the recipe & photo to show how to put it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is delish & being a Carolina girl myself I would recommend a Boston Butt over the shoulder. The shoulder has more fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Tasted great, especially after being in the fridge. Next time I would add the spices for maybe the last hour of cooking and only add half the spices. 4/1/14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Having lived in North Carolina all my life, I really like good BBQ. This about as close as you can get without a smoker or pit. I cut down on the hot ingredients so it wouldn't be too spicy hot for my taste. Other than that, I followed the directions. I took it out of the slow cooker at the 10 hour mark as the internal temperature of the meat was 180 degrees. The meat just flaked off and was easy to shred. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I had been looking for a good pulled pork recipe that wasn't heavy on BBQ sauce and this was it. I did read all of the reviews and took it all into account. For the slow cooker process, I did use apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons of hickory liquid smoke, 1 tablespoon of sea salt and pepper. That cooked on low for 12 hours. It is true, that for the first little while, there is a strong vinegar smell. Don't let that discourage you, because as it cooks longer and the juice from the meat mixes with it, it just starts to smell really delicious. Once it was shredded, I did some adjustments with the spices also, as I didn't want to overdo it with the heat. I used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and 1 tablespoon red hot sauce. My husband loves the taste of this. We are looking forward to having it tonight in rolls with cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Lived in NC for 40 years and love bbq. This was as good as any I've had and better than most! I followed the recipe exactly. One thing I did was at the end after allowing it to sit in the sauce warming for an hour, I drained off the liquid so it would be dry to serve. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was a awesome recipe. It tasted really similar to my favorite BBQ place in North Carolina. The only thing I added was liquid smoke and halved the recipe because there is only two of us. Mine did not turn out spicy like other reviewers have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I'd give it 10 stars if I could. Since moving to the Carolina's we've come to really enjoy Carolina BBQ. However it is expensive so I saw this recipe and it is our new go to for amazing BBQ. We also add the liquid smoke which just gives it that extra authenticity. If we ever leave the Carolina's, this is something we'll always make! Thanks for the awesome recipe! Also the vinegar smell is not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States