Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
WOW! This was incredibly easy and SOOOO wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly and served it with "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" from this site. Both were awesome! I had BBQ once when I went to N. Carolina and this was just like I remember it! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
delicious...5 stars at least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saintsfan44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My family loves this. My son would eat it everyday. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2elinate
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
super easy. super-effin' good. as good or better than barbecue establishments in carolina (i'm in durham). this is pretty hot (i used less meat), which i like, but it might not be for the faint of heart. i second the motion of using some liquid smoke. best of all, the intensity of flavor relegates the need for any type of additional sauce. i recommend draining some of the fat and juic before eating so as to not get a soggy bun, it's still very moist. top with vinegar based slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Awesome! I'm from NC and this is just like you would find in a restaurant. Better than Smithfield's Chicken and Barbecue and oh so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I tried this to feed a large family and boy it was good. I forgot the steps after cooking the meat, so I imagine next time it will be even better. Very clost to the type I buy every week at a local restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
As others have stated, this is delicious but the odor is "really obnoxious"- we have an outside kitchen and place the crock pot outside. If we had to cook it inside, I doubt if I would cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Really Good... will definityl make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is a great way to make pulled pork in the winter time. I really like the bite of Carolina pulled pork, but my husband likes the sweet barbecue sauces of the midwest. I compromised with this recipe. I cooked the pork according to the recipe and then added a cup of Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce to the shredded pork before serving. It was very good and my husband said he would definitely eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erikagee
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I would give this 10 stars if I could!!!! It is soooooo good!!!!! I was craving some pulled pork sandwhiches for a few days so I decided I was making them for dinner and the store just so happen to have boneless pork shoulder roast on sale ( I hate touching any meat with bones). I pretty much followed the recipe other then using the boneless roast I added onion powder and garlic salt and I used sea salt because it's what I had on hand. The only other change I made was putting Liquid smoke in with the vineger. I didn't put the cayenne or red pepper in because my little girl was going to be eating it and I didn't want it to spicy for her. I will be making this recipe a lot now. We are having left overs for either luch or dinner or possibly both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States