Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Jamie_LBGC
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I live in Eastern North Carolina ... and this is authentic Carolina BBQ!! Yummy and oh so easy!! Thanks for submitting the recipe coolmonkshoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is the recipe to make if you are a true Eastern North Carolina person. The vinegar makes the BBQ, so no complaints about the vinegar smell. I made one small adjustment to make it a little leaner and that was to make it with a 2.5 pd Pork Lion Roast and removed the fat before I pulled it apart. Adjust your seasonings accordingly and get that coleslaw ready for your great tasting BBQ. Of course, now after eating it I wish I had made some more BBQ, but even the 2.5 pound produced enough meat for about 6-7 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Made this yesterday hoping for left overs for a couple days. Hubby polished this off this afternoon. With homemade coleslaw you can't go wrong with this recipe. Easy, delicious and dreamy!! I ended up using some white sugar instead of the brown sugar and it was pretty good. next time will try the brown sugar. The only thing I did different was I did add chicken stock to the vinegar and I used a 7.5 lb fresh picnic ham (same thing?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I haven't had anything this good since I left Virginia Beach! This is a tasty pulled pork Carolina bbq sandwich alright. Doesn't get much better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I just don't get the amount of vinegar...the smell was so unappealing. I didn't dislike the finished product, but it definitely wasn't something any of us thoroughly enjoyed and I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Wish I could rate this one higher than only 5 stars... yes, it's THAT good. I read several reviews and found an awful lot of whining about the vinegar smell, but honestly, I thought it smelled WONDERFUL! Be sure to add some Liquid Smoke... it is the ONLY thing missing from the recipe. For a 4 or 5 LB. pork roast, you'll want to add a couple of tablespoons of liquid smoke. Man oh man, I could eat this stuff all week. Make your favorite cole slaw recipe to top off the pork with and trust me, you will be smiling at the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
OMG...how good! My husband is a North Carolinian originally and living in Pennsylvania, he always says it's hard to get real Carolina BBQ here. I made this for him this weekend and he was impressed. He's asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Being from the Carolinas, now living in Germany, we have been trying to find a recipe that could give us a little taste of home. This is it!!! With a little slaw, Baked beans and hushpuppies, we were at home! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coastie_Wife03
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was my first attempt at making Carolina BBQ and this is a great starting recipe! I can't to try out my own idea's the next time I make it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coastie_Wife03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lane, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
WOW! This was incredibly easy and SOOOO wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly and served it with "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" from this site. Both were awesome! I had BBQ once when I went to N. Carolina and this was just like I remember it! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States