Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
As suggested by others I added liquid smoke to the cooking liquid. I also added sliced onions (2 small - will add more next time. They retain the vinegar zing and add to the flavor). The other change I made was reducing the leftover liquid to almost a syrup which really concentrated the flavor then adding it to the pulled pork. Next time I'll add about 1 cup unreduced liquid to the pulled pork, reduce the rest and add to the pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
way too hot; only used 1/2 of the cayeanne and red peppers & hot sauce & it was still way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Fantastic! I took a leap of faith trying this because nice pork is hard to find where I live but I was greatly rewarded for following the recipe and just upping the liquid smoke just a bit per other reviewers suggestions. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Outstanding! I like pulled pork and I like non-bland food, this was such a good recipe. I think it is easily the best thing I have ever made in a crockpot. Thank you for sharing this! I read through the reviews and, while following the recipe exactly, I also added 2 TBSP of liquid smoke when I added the other ingredients. Seriously, so good ... writing this in the morning and think I may have just another pinch (don't think I can wait til dinner).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have made this recipe half a dozen times. It is fabulous! when my son comes to visit, this is the recipe he requests. We LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Unbelievable! I wish I had found this recipe 22 years ago when I moved from North Carolina to Minnesota! How could you not love the smell of vinegar while this delicacy is cooking? I'm with the others... adding about 5 tablespoons of Liquid Smoke really makes it taste like home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Very good. I think cooking in vinegar makes a big difference. It's quite spicy, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was so tender with so much flavor. Thank you so much for this Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVOSRANCHEROS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Help!! I cooked the meat and my husband shredded it; did not realize there was more to the recipe and accidentally threw out the liquid. Any suggestions for adding the rest of the ingredients and salvaging the dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made this recipe for my boyfriend. HE LOVED IT! I followed the recipe to a T except that I doubled the brown sugar and added just a little bit of cider vinegar instead of the hot sauce. We will definitly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States