Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
In Durham NC we eat BBQ sandwiched with a sweet finely chopped coleslaw on top of the meat! Don't leave off the slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Best pulled pork I've had and easy to make. I made some modifications due to having a family who does not like "spicy" or strong flavored. I used distilled white vinegar (I know, I know) but the cooking scent and the flavor was more mild. I also left out the cayenne pepper, hot sauce, and crushed red pepper. I used a tad of smokey Hungarian paprika instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was very good NC style pulled pork. If I had spent eight hours tending to a hot smoker, it may have turned out a bit better, but for what it is, it is excellent and so easy. No, the vinegar smell never bothered me or my family at all. I will definitely do it again. David C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I too am from NC and love the BBQ there. Living in Chicago I have to say they have a lot of unique food here, deep dish pizza and beef sandwiches to name a couple but the BBQ is just imported ST. Louise style. Sweet, heavy sauce that smothers the pork rather than enhancing it like NC 'Q. To get that pig pickin' smoke flavor I added smoked paprika to the rub and let set over night in the fridge. Also used an injector to put about half a cup of the apple cider vinegar into the pork shoulder at that time as well. I thought about putting liquid smoke in that also but decided to wait until the final mix to use it if desired. Just a dash is all it needs in my opinion. Sheer bliss in a very much missed comfort food from my youth. I also bring back a bottle of Texas Pete everytime I visit family back in the old north state. Love, love, LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I cooked it on high for about 7 hours. Also added a little liquid smoke. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I followed another reviewer's advice & put the crock pot in the garage. I also added 2 Tbsp. of liquid smoke to the sauce. I was told it was the best pulled pork ever tasted! It was yummy! I will make this over & over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This came out great. I too added the liquid smoke and loved the flavor. I tasted the pork as I was shredding it and what a big difference after it cooked another hour! I may consider adding more heat next time I make this. I will pair this with my home made coleslaw recipe I found here. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-restaurant-slaw/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It grew on us as we ate the left overs. You HAVE TO like vinegar for this to even be an option. The smell while cooking didnt bother us we did the cook on high for 5 hours method, plenty moist and all the way cooked, so no worries there. Did add some liquid smoke for smokey flavor. I made a sweet slaw recipe, a copy cat KFC one that really made the sandwich work. Im so glad I took the time to prepare the slaw because without it, it may not have been as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
this is excellent, you can do this with chicken also....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
We have made Carolina pulled pork BBQ for years, but, we never use all of that hot spice stuff. Our pork is very good meat, we don't need to mask the flavor with hot spices. When we have community pot-lucks I frequently am asked to bring this. So, just leave out the hot spice and do add a little liquid smoke. It's the apple cider vinegar that really makes this anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States