Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I am so in love with this recipe. All the ingredients contribute to it's tangy yumminess. Make this for a potluck and it will be gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I have been making a version of this for over 20 years--to rave reviews. I highly recommend adding a small amount (1/2 pound of so) of smoked picnic ham to the crock pot to convincingly fake that "pit cooked" flavor. I also recommend using white vinegar, not cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
The apple vinegar is the key to this recipe. I use a Boston Pork Butt, a cup of apple vinegar, and a 1/2 bottle of Stubbs Marinade. After 6 hours on high in the crock pot, I pull the meat and shred and put back in the pot. I then add a bottle of Doc Pierces BBQ sauce and cook on low for another two hours. It's like a party in your mouth. Very tasty. 5 STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I made this for a Sunday gathering and everyone went crazy for it! I found mine was ready to be strained and pulled apart after 10 & 1/2 hours. I then added the remaining ingredients and cooked on low for 1 more hour. I also found that 1 to 1 & 1/2 cups of reserved liquid was enough. This recipe is very easy to follow and works great for medium sized hungry groups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The meat turned out very tender. We served with bar-b-que sauce. It tasted very good. I did have one very negative comment though. Cooking this meat in the vinegar made the whole house smell bad - really bad. Next time, I'll put the slow cooker in the garage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is a really good Carolina BBQ recipe. I have made several slow cooker recipes for Carolina BBQ, only to end up disappointed. This one was not one of those my husband even liked it and he is a picky eater. I did add a little extra apple vinegar at the end and let it cook for an extra hour after shredding the meat so it could soak up the seasonings. I will definitely be keeping this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Oh my goodness! You hit the nail right on the head. I am from eastern North Carolina and grew up with pig pickin's. What a shot of nostalgia with a fraction of the work. I've made this several times, always with rave reviews. The only complaint my husband and I have is the vinegary smell for 12 hrs. But well worth the trade. Excellent with "Dave's Coleslaw" from here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This Yankee girl LOVES this recipe! I was only acquainted with Carolina BBQ a few years ago and really liked it. This recipe is perfect. It is very spicy which I like, but be careful if serving to a crowd - especially like people in Minnesota who seem to prefer things very bland. Put some of this on a yummy bun, add a little cole slaw and it's an immediate picnic. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I'm from Eastern NC and this recipe is exceptional! My friends and myself had several jokes about making BBQ in a crockpot, but I was pleasantly surprised! This is the best bbq i've had since i moved away from Eastern NC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I'm from NC and can say how hard it is to find good Carolina BBQ. (I've been looking for years) This is as close to perfect as you can get without the cooker and the whole pig!! 1st time I did add a smidge of liquid smoke, this time I'm throwing in some smoked hocks yummy!!!! Can't thank you enough for sharing this recipie. My husband says it's better than any we've purchased at the store. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States