Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My grocery store only had picnic shoulder so I used that. It cooked in the crockpot for about 10-11 hours on low (and it really did not stink the house up THAT much!) After the shredding it into the sauce, I let it cook on low for another 1-2 hours. It was pretty yummy. But next time, I will try to make more of the sauce for the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Fantastic. Big hit with friends on the boat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. It is great vinegar style BBQ, super easy to make, and has gotten rave reviews every time I have made it. I live in NC where people are used to good BBQ on every corner so if these connoisseurs enjoy this BBQ, you know it must be good. I cut the spices in half after the first time i made it because it was too hot for my taste. I also have used half apple cider vinegar and half white vinegar sometimes when i don't have enough of ACV. It tastes great both ways. I've done it for 12 hours on low or 6 hours on high and it works great both ways. I'm about to make this for a fifth time tomorrow for a BBQ contest at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is the easiest and most delicious BBQ recipe! It has a little kick to it but the meat is so tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This BBQ was PERFECT! Can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Awesome BBQ- Family loved it! I only added a little liquid smoke at the suggestion of the other reivewers. Otherwise, followed to the letter. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jeffries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I won't touch anything but Carolina vinegar BBQ-the kind you get at Smithfield's and this is the closest you will find online. I finally printed the recipe and also saved it to my recipe box so I won't lose it again! IMHO, the vinegar smell is not as unpleasant as some stated. In fact it makes my mouth water with anticipation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made this for Easter for the 1st time. Feedback was overwhelmingly positive. I followed the recipe as written, with the following exceptions: (i) I added two (2) tablespoons of Wright's "Applewood" Liquid Smoke. (ii) Rather than pour off the excess liquid, I boiled down the liquid to concentrate the flavor. Rather than serve the pulled pork on buns, I made waffles. I started by dicing a pound of applewood smoked bacon and sauteed the diced bacon in a cast iron skillet until crispy. For each waffle, I sprinkled some of the crispy bacon onto the waffle iron prior to pouring the batter. Onto the bacon waffle, I ladled a generous portion of pulled pork, and covered the pork with cole slaw. Most of the guests ate it open faced; but a few ate it like a taco. It was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Cooked for Easter Sunday, everyone loved it! Didn't have apple cider vinegar so I used white vinegar instead. Still turned out great. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Love this recipe. I make it all the time. I do add 3 tbsp of liquid smoke to it which gives it a great flavor. My family and friends love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States