Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Awesome BBQ- Family loved it! I only added a little liquid smoke at the suggestion of the other reivewers. Otherwise, followed to the letter. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jeffries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I won't touch anything but Carolina vinegar BBQ-the kind you get at Smithfield's and this is the closest you will find online. I finally printed the recipe and also saved it to my recipe box so I won't lose it again! IMHO, the vinegar smell is not as unpleasant as some stated. In fact it makes my mouth water with anticipation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made this for Easter for the 1st time. Feedback was overwhelmingly positive. I followed the recipe as written, with the following exceptions: (i) I added two (2) tablespoons of Wright's "Applewood" Liquid Smoke. (ii) Rather than pour off the excess liquid, I boiled down the liquid to concentrate the flavor. Rather than serve the pulled pork on buns, I made waffles. I started by dicing a pound of applewood smoked bacon and sauteed the diced bacon in a cast iron skillet until crispy. For each waffle, I sprinkled some of the crispy bacon onto the waffle iron prior to pouring the batter. Onto the bacon waffle, I ladled a generous portion of pulled pork, and covered the pork with cole slaw. Most of the guests ate it open faced; but a few ate it like a taco. It was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Cooked for Easter Sunday, everyone loved it! Didn't have apple cider vinegar so I used white vinegar instead. Still turned out great. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Love this recipe. I make it all the time. I do add 3 tbsp of liquid smoke to it which gives it a great flavor. My family and friends love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Made this yesterday and it was WONDERFUL. Live in Upstate NY and I felt like I was back in NC. The liquid smoke really is the topper on the cake. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I cooked the meat yessterday and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I made the sauce this morning-my husband & I really like Franks Red Hot so I used that. I didn't want to cook the meat any longer in the crock pot since the meat was already perfectly cooked. I just mixed it up and let it set for a bit, then heated it in the microwave before we ate. i did make the cole slaw to put on top-REALLY GOOD. Served it with french fries and baked beans. YUMMY : ) My hubby really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was delicious but you really need to slow cook it for 8-12 hours, and the odor is really obnoxious. Several residents in our building complained. I promised I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was fabulous! It sounds like a weird recipe, but you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I'm from up north and I wanted to make this for my husband who is from NC - and he raved about it! It was simple to make, tasty and delicious. The only thing I changed is that I ended up shredding at the 10 hour mark instead of 12, and excluded cayenne pepper & flakes because of our spice preference. Will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States