Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
OK...This Texas BBQ girl was looking for something different. We own a ranch...and BBQ is our thing. There sat my biggest critics...dad and hubby. They hated the smell...hated everything about what I was doing. UNTIL...they took a bite. They laughed. Not bad...and told me to give it 5 stars and make it again. These Texas boys were hooked on some "northern" BBQ. You HAVE to add the liquid smoke...or it isn't worth eating. I added probably 4 or more tablespoons for a 4 pound pork. I also made it with white vinegar and cooked on high for 6 hours. Enjoy...even if you're from the BBQ wild west of Texas...it's good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I have tried MANY recipes and this one is hands down the best! I live on the N.C./Va. border and people here are really particular about their pork bbq. I have made this on many occasions and always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I'm giving this only 3 stars since this was too spicy for me. Very easy to do and pork came out nice and moisture, but.......yikes, those red pepper flakes were over the top for me. My boyfriend and his son enjoyed it. Only thing, took 10.5 hours for pork to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Me and my family loved it. It had a kick and was delicious. Had a friend from North Carolina over and he said "I feel like I am back home"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
My family loved this recipe. We did add a good amount of Liquid Smoke and used a little less of the hot spices. It worked for us. Plus, our house smelled good when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Super easy and delicious; you cant mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This turned out really well for us. I used a pork loin, and rubbed it with liquid smoke as well as hickory smoked salt and pepper, then loosely topped with aluminum foil in the slow cooker while cooking. I was pressed for time, so I cooked this on high for about 4 hours, then low for about 3 1/2 before shredding. Had I had more smoke flavor, this would have reminded me of when my dad dug a pit and slow cooked a pig when I was little. Fall apart tender and delicious. The vinegar smell was noticeable during the day, but not overpowering. Served this on homemade onion rolls with from scratch honey/molasses barbecue sauce for topping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Loved it! It's hard to find Carolina barbecue in these parts, and this hits the spot. I didn't find the vinegar overwhelming like some. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious! Always wanted to try Carolina style BBQ. Fell right of the bone. Very tender and flavorful. My kids loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Let me start with I love spicy food. However I followed the driections closely and found it was way too hot. I did add more brown sugar which calmed it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States