Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
We've made this 3 times this summer. Hubby keeps inviting friends over for dinner so he can have more Carolina BBQ! It is a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great recipe. Since I live in NC, I just buy Scott's BBQ sauce at the grocery store and use it, since it already includes the vinegar and peppers. Also, when I put the pork in the crockpot I add some Liquid Smoke for that hickory taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I would have rated this 5 stars but for that I had to cut the hot peppers in half. Otherwise, loved the fact that this bbq was light weight and not like some of those heavy sauce you buy in the bottle. I made the creamy cole slaw on this site and it was great on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is amazing! I added 2 tbs liquid smoke after reading the reviews and prepared it exactly as written except I had to freeze it for three days after the liquid was removed etc. Still came out perfect when I put it back in the slow cooker on high for about an hour. Four Northern men (Canadians) loved it. I can't wait to serve it to a southern woman next. I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Woo-Wee……this is some delicious BBQ, Carolina style! I followed the directions as stated only using a pork loin rather than a bone-in pork shoulder roast because I had the loin in the freezer. I prepped the meat and put the Crockpot in the garage. I knew with 1 ½ cups of vinegar the smell would be very strong. I put this on in the evening so it could cook all night. In the morning, it was ready to shred. I then proceeded with the rest of the recipe/ingredients. I then cooled the meat, put in the fridge to be served the next day. The next day, I reheated on the stovetop. This meat is delicious. I worried about the “heat” after reading other reviews. It does have a kick to it, so back off on the spices if spicy is not your thing. I prepared cole slaw for those that wanted to add it to their sandwiches. I served this with ‘Macaroni Salad Virginia Style’ from AR. We had a great meal, and one I most definitely will be making again. Glad I have 2 more loins in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
OK...This Texas BBQ girl was looking for something different. We own a ranch...and BBQ is our thing. There sat my biggest critics...dad and hubby. They hated the smell...hated everything about what I was doing. UNTIL...they took a bite. They laughed. Not bad...and told me to give it 5 stars and make it again. These Texas boys were hooked on some "northern" BBQ. You HAVE to add the liquid smoke...or it isn't worth eating. I added probably 4 or more tablespoons for a 4 pound pork. I also made it with white vinegar and cooked on high for 6 hours. Enjoy...even if you're from the BBQ wild west of Texas...it's good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I have tried MANY recipes and this one is hands down the best! I live on the N.C./Va. border and people here are really particular about their pork bbq. I have made this on many occasions and always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I'm giving this only 3 stars since this was too spicy for me. Very easy to do and pork came out nice and moisture, but.......yikes, those red pepper flakes were over the top for me. My boyfriend and his son enjoyed it. Only thing, took 10.5 hours for pork to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Me and my family loved it. It had a kick and was delicious. Had a friend from North Carolina over and he said "I feel like I am back home"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
My family loved this recipe. We did add a good amount of Liquid Smoke and used a little less of the hot spices. It worked for us. Plus, our house smelled good when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Maides-Keane
Living In: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States