Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I just don't get the amount of vinegar...the smell was so unappealing. I didn't dislike the finished product, but it definitely wasn't something any of us thoroughly enjoyed and I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Wish I could rate this one higher than only 5 stars... yes, it's THAT good. I read several reviews and found an awful lot of whining about the vinegar smell, but honestly, I thought it smelled WONDERFUL! Be sure to add some Liquid Smoke... it is the ONLY thing missing from the recipe. For a 4 or 5 LB. pork roast, you'll want to add a couple of tablespoons of liquid smoke. Man oh man, I could eat this stuff all week. Make your favorite cole slaw recipe to top off the pork with and trust me, you will be smiling at the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
OMG...how good! My husband is a North Carolinian originally and living in Pennsylvania, he always says it's hard to get real Carolina BBQ here. I made this for him this weekend and he was impressed. He's asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Being from the Carolinas, now living in Germany, we have been trying to find a recipe that could give us a little taste of home. This is it!!! With a little slaw, Baked beans and hushpuppies, we were at home! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coastie_Wife03
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was my first attempt at making Carolina BBQ and this is a great starting recipe! I can't to try out my own idea's the next time I make it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coastie_Wife03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lane, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
WOW! This was incredibly easy and SOOOO wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly and served it with "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" from this site. Both were awesome! I had BBQ once when I went to N. Carolina and this was just like I remember it! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
delicious...5 stars at least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saintsfan44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My family loves this. My son would eat it everyday. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2elinate
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
super easy. super-effin' good. as good or better than barbecue establishments in carolina (i'm in durham). this is pretty hot (i used less meat), which i like, but it might not be for the faint of heart. i second the motion of using some liquid smoke. best of all, the intensity of flavor relegates the need for any type of additional sauce. i recommend draining some of the fat and juic before eating so as to not get a soggy bun, it's still very moist. top with vinegar based slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Awesome! I'm from NC and this is just like you would find in a restaurant. Better than Smithfield's Chicken and Barbecue and oh so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States