Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I love this recipe. Needless to say I had no leftovers! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is my favorite recipe on this site! I love the Carolina style BBQ sandwich with coleslaw. I do vary the cooking time and how long I keep it cooking on Low/High - it just depends on how long I have to let it cook. I also add a few tablespoons of liquid smoke along with the other spices, but those are the only differences. Thank you for posting!! I can't wait for dinner tonight. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie_LBGC
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I live in Eastern North Carolina ... and this is authentic Carolina BBQ!! Yummy and oh so easy!! Thanks for submitting the recipe coolmonkshoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is the recipe to make if you are a true Eastern North Carolina person. The vinegar makes the BBQ, so no complaints about the vinegar smell. I made one small adjustment to make it a little leaner and that was to make it with a 2.5 pd Pork Lion Roast and removed the fat before I pulled it apart. Adjust your seasonings accordingly and get that coleslaw ready for your great tasting BBQ. Of course, now after eating it I wish I had made some more BBQ, but even the 2.5 pound produced enough meat for about 6-7 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Made this yesterday hoping for left overs for a couple days. Hubby polished this off this afternoon. With homemade coleslaw you can't go wrong with this recipe. Easy, delicious and dreamy!! I ended up using some white sugar instead of the brown sugar and it was pretty good. next time will try the brown sugar. The only thing I did different was I did add chicken stock to the vinegar and I used a 7.5 lb fresh picnic ham (same thing?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I haven't had anything this good since I left Virginia Beach! This is a tasty pulled pork Carolina bbq sandwich alright. Doesn't get much better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I just don't get the amount of vinegar...the smell was so unappealing. I didn't dislike the finished product, but it definitely wasn't something any of us thoroughly enjoyed and I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Wish I could rate this one higher than only 5 stars... yes, it's THAT good. I read several reviews and found an awful lot of whining about the vinegar smell, but honestly, I thought it smelled WONDERFUL! Be sure to add some Liquid Smoke... it is the ONLY thing missing from the recipe. For a 4 or 5 LB. pork roast, you'll want to add a couple of tablespoons of liquid smoke. Man oh man, I could eat this stuff all week. Make your favorite cole slaw recipe to top off the pork with and trust me, you will be smiling at the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
OMG...how good! My husband is a North Carolinian originally and living in Pennsylvania, he always says it's hard to get real Carolina BBQ here. I made this for him this weekend and he was impressed. He's asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Being from the Carolinas, now living in Germany, we have been trying to find a recipe that could give us a little taste of home. This is it!!! With a little slaw, Baked beans and hushpuppies, we were at home! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States