Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was delicious but you really need to slow cook it for 8-12 hours, and the odor is really obnoxious. Several residents in our building complained. I promised I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was fabulous! It sounds like a weird recipe, but you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I'm from up north and I wanted to make this for my husband who is from NC - and he raved about it! It was simple to make, tasty and delicious. The only thing I changed is that I ended up shredding at the 10 hour mark instead of 12, and excluded cayenne pepper & flakes because of our spice preference. Will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Need a really tangy, vinegary barbeque sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Loved this! It took care of my Carolina pulled pork craving! I followed the recipe, although I used a rib-in cut that the butcher recommended. I found that, when the meat finished cooking and I had shredded it, it was really juicy and tender. I made the sauce, but kept it separate for those who wanted a more spicy pork. My choice was to make a sandwich with the pork and some homemade coleslaw and dip the sandwich in the sauce as I ate it. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I was born & raise in the Carolinas & this recipe was so close to that pig cooking i remember. My family Loved it! Will add the liquid smoke next time. I think that is all its missing.(the reason I gave it 4 stars) The coleslaw helped calm down the spice and it tasted perfect! I used my slow cooker on high for 6 hrs for a 3.5 lb boneless pork shoulder roast. The apple cider vinegar did not stink up my house, btw. I never noticed it. I think sourkraut smells worse!! Anyways, After I pulled apart the meat & stirred in the sauce mixtures, it was juicy & so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this yesterday. It made this former Eastern Carolinian drool with anticipation and scored well on the West Coast family level. As good as any I've ever had at a restaurant and being a retired chef, I've had my share. Great stuff, easy to make, just like "home".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve A

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santee, California, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious!!! My husband and I were a little skeptical of the heat at first but this turn out absolutley wonderful!!I did add liquid smoke! I will definelty make this again and again! Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I'm from GA, but I've gotta tell ya. This is some of the best BBQ i've ever made and I actually worked downstairs in the office all day while it was cooking, lol. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Definitely an Eastern NC BBQ girl. None of that Lexington **** for me! This recipe is a revelation. OF COURSE ideally you smoke it, low, slow, and outside... but if you have a townhouse, this works out okay. It does smell like vinegar - but it smells enough like BBQ that we didn't mind at all. I think that if you have never had this style of barbeque before, you'd definitely notice it. Only one change - halved the amount of cayenne pepper. Used Texas Pete as the hot sauce. Delicious! Can't say that enough. New notes 06Apr2014: The 2 Tablespoons liquid smoke are a great addition. Please do NOT use a skin-on pork butt - it's just too fatty for this. I ended up having to waste a lot of pork because the crock pot was doing some rendering but not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States