Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Help!! I cooked the meat and my husband shredded it; did not realize there was more to the recipe and accidentally threw out the liquid. Any suggestions for adding the rest of the ingredients and salvaging the dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made this recipe for my boyfriend. HE LOVED IT! I followed the recipe to a T except that I doubled the brown sugar and added just a little bit of cider vinegar instead of the hot sauce. We will definitly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Overall this is a good recipe, but I had to add some additional seasoning at the end because my family felt it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awebbchic
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made this when company came to visit and I got nothing but rave reviews! I only put half the amount of hot sauce that was suggested just because I was scared of overwhelming my guests. Next time I will use the full amount because the kick wasn't strong enough for me with only the half amount. The hardest part of this recipe is shredding the cut of meat. We had enough left overs for another full dinner later in the week. It reheated well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awebbchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Looking for that perfect pulled pork BBQ, I read the reviews on this and tried it. In my opinion, its good, but not great. Didnt seem to have much flavor, just bland. Ill have to keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Triadelphia, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Used a 4 QT slow cooker and while there was ample room I would highly recommend cutting the cider vinegar in half. There was no need for this much vinegar and during the night it floated the pork butt pushing the lid off. Used a 5.5 lb pork butt. In the end the taste was okay. Made this for my father-in-law who was raised on Carolina BBQ and he enjoyed mroe than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I have a different recipe for North Carolina BBQ that I like much better. In the end, I added regular old bbq sauce (i.e. turning it into something completely different) to this to make it enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Have been searching for a restaurant that serves Carolina BBQ in Dallas, Texas . . . you can imagine that I have had very little luck. Found this recipe - now the best place in Dallas for Carolina BBQ is my kitchen . . . tastes so good! I added 2 T of liquid smoke as others suggested (Hickory flavor). Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This is my favorite recipe so far! By far the BEST BBQ I have been able to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States