Slow Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This came out great. I took the advice of others and tripled the rub. When I served it we used a soft tortilla and added guacamole, sour cream, fresh cilantro, a squeeze of lime, Pico De Gallo and, some shredded cheddar (it's all I had). Really, Really good. Great flavors and it smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I followed the directions and it was sublime AS IS. Can't fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This turned out perfect, everyone loved it! I added some sweet chili sauce at the end to other juices and poured over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I pre-browned my meat (pork shoulder chops) and cooked it in the pressure cooker on med/high pressure for 30-40 minutes (until fork tender). I also added fresh garlic and some cilantro. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
If you LOVE Chipotles than you must try this recipe. I'm a Chipotle's fan and love going there but with that said this recipe taste just like you're there minus their prices. Like most of the other reviews that I read I didn't add the cinnamon and it turned out GREAT !!!! I used a four pound shoulder that the butcher cut into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was very good. I followed previous reviews and double the seasonings and omitted the cinnamon . Next time I will do the same but not double the salt. It was a bit salty for our taste! But still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASunleaf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe! You definitely want to a) double the spices, and b) bake for 20 mins @ 400 after the 10 hours. Cut the shoulder into chunks before cooking and then shred some, leave some whole when it comes out. We serve with tortillas and pico - but you can also put it on a bun as bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaitlyn C.
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
These were fantastic! I used pork loin roasts because that's what our store had at the time. I tripled all of the seasonings, including the cinnamon, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Added this to my recipe box because it has such a high rating. So when my husband and I were at the grocery store trying to come up with a new dinner idea I whipped out my phone. We were both excited to try it and sure enough, the house smelled delicious when we got up the next morning. So you can imagine my disappointment when my husband tried it but said it wasn't very good, he had wanted to take some to work for his coworkers but didn't. That night we added more cumin and cinnamon but it was too late, it didn't help. All these years I've known to read reviews first but this time I was using the app and I'm not even sure how to get to them. Making the recipe as-is didn't work for us. We might try it again but we'll do a minimum of doubling the rub and will try putting the meat in the oven before eating. Otherwise it's a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was almost too easy not to give it 5 stars! Took me about 3 minutes in the morning to put this together, and it was finished by the time I got out of work! You can't beat that! The only thing I hoped for was a little more flavor. Next time, I will follow another user's recommendation and cut up the pork first, and maybe double the seasoning. Otherwise, this is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 917) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States