Slow Cooker Carnitas from Old El Paso® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was excellent! The only thing I did different was add the green chiles in the crock pot a couple of hours before the pork was done cooking. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Terrific! Very easy & tasty. Only change I would make for next time would be to use hot Enchilada sauce instead of medium. We tend to like things a little spicier around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
would have added enchilada sauce to mixture instead of drippings from slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
So you understand....I am not a big pork lover...but this dish was fabulous. I didn't cook it in the crock pot I put it in the oven at 300 for about six hours. I will definitely make this again and will have guests over to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Not a fan of this recipe. We thought it was kind of bland and greasy. As another reviewer recommended, using another can of enchilada sauce instead of the greasy sauce from the slow cooker probably would have improved it. I used a 3.6 lb. pork shoulder that bone and skin, but still ended up with less meat than the recipe was supposed to make, and as a result, the meat was pretty runny with the sauce added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Used a 2 lb pork butt. Cut into 1/2 in. slices. Browned meat added onions for a minute or 2. Put in my electric pressure cooker. Added remaining ingredients. Cooked 45 minutes. Removed from PC Spooned into tortillas. Rolled up. Placed in baking dish. Sprinkled with cheese. Put in 350 degree oven til cheese melts or you could also put under broiler. In a hurry? Warm tacos & just put in a bowl & let everyone make their own tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Why are these cooks rating a recipe they haven't cooked??????? This isn't a "comment" site.. it is for ratings so we can make an informed decision about making it or not. drives me crazy..... Anyway -- this is very good as is. I made one in the slow cooker a few weeks ago with not much seasoning and this was great in comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Made carnitas for dinner last night. I added red and yellow peppers along with the onions to the crock pot. I found the sauce a little bland(we like really spicy food) so II added a little anchor chili powder, cayenne , garlic salt and cumin and a dash of Louisiana Hot Sauce. My family loved it... Made plenty so I will freeze leftover mer for another cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good ! Would be yummy over rice as well...will making this again soon. Also, this would be good for a large group or party as I thought it was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Because I'm lazy, I just sliced onions and a few small sweet peppers, threw them in the crock pot and put cut up pork roast on top, sprinkled taco seasoning on that and dumped the can of enchilada sauce over that. Cooked on all day while I was at work (11 hours on low) and it was perfect when I got home! Dumped in the chiles because I forgot to remove the pork first, but it didn't matter. I just shredded the pork in the crock pot and it all mixed together just right. I feel that it just needed a bit more spice after sampling, but it was still really good and not so hot that the kids can't eat it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States