Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Loved this recipe! Made it tonight for supper and doubled the recipe for my large family and probably should have tripled it. They devoured it! Only change I made was I only used one can of tomato paste in the doubled recipe. I thought it was perfect, so 1/2 a can for a normal recipe will be what I will do in the future if I make it. I also want to say that I added the yogurt at the beginning as the recipe called for and had no problems at all with separation. My family have requested I make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is one of the best recipes for this dish. Yum, Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really easy to make (except never found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I am committing the big sin of not actually making this but I am sure it is wonderful. I have a couple of comments about the recipe, however. The spices are not typically on my shelf and would entail trying to find them around my area; all that is prepared basically on the stove and could be finished up there or in the oven with the addition of the coconut milk and yogurt. Putting it all day in the crock pot would be unnecessary in my estimation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Super yummy! I threw in cauliflower the last hour and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I have a question. I usually don't like cumin. But the reviews make me think I should try it. Tell me about the flavor. Is it hot? Had to put in stars to post. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Longville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Both my husband and I enjoyed this. I would have given it 5 stars but I feel like the prep instructions for a crockpot meal were too labor intensive. I did follow the instructions but next time I will either throw everything into the crockpot from the beginning or if I do the skillet routine I will keep it in the skillet and put a lid on it and simmer for 30 minutes, adding the yogurt in the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
didn't have the cardamom pods and had to make my own tandoori masala mix, but was very good. The house smells wonderful ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmcclain22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Was not overly impressed. Had lots of flavour, but not flavours of any butter chicken I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is very good and can easily be made in slow cooker or stovetop. By the time you make the sauce, you only need to wait for the chicken to cook. I have made this more than once and this time, I needed to sub some things because I didn't have everything and still came out very good. It's 4 stars just because I needed to add extra amount of spices than what was in the recipe. This probably depends on brand of spices so keep that in mind. I changed sour cream for yoghurt since that all I had. I used extra curry powder( store bought) since I didn't have paste. I added 1/4 tsp chili powder as another reviewer suggested and also added extra of garam masala. (Only because accidentally mixed up amounts of tandoori masala so I got 2 tsp of each but ended up really well) both masala spices I mixed myself. Also make sure to " cook" the spices with onions before adding tomato paste to release the spice flavor. I also skipped cardamom because I didn't have any. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeChick81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States