Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
First time making butter chicken in the slow cooker and it turned out delicious. the chicken was so tender and I used chicken breast. Only changes is that I added fresh ginger , 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and added the yogurt 15 minutes before serving. I made basmati rice but since my husband is not a big fan of rice , when I can home I diced up some potatoes and boiled them in 15 minutes and then added them to the chicken for about 5 minutes before serving it. I know it is not traditional butter chicken but it was so delicious. So it was carb overload since I also had it with the basmati rice and let,s not forget the nann bread that soaks up the sauce. Next time I am making my own mann bread. There is a recipe on this site that has great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I didn't have the more exotic ingredients, but made it just with what we had in the house, and it was great! The coconut milk gives it such a rich feel and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I always brown chicken before I put it in the crock pot; no matter if the recipe calls for it or not ( the look of unbrowned chicken freaks me out!), so this extra step was of no concern for me. Prepping the recipe is slightly time consuming but worth the 15 to 20 minutes of effort. I prep it before I go to bed and put the crockpot bowl in the fridge with the lid on. In the morning, I drop it in the heating element of the crock, set on low for 8 hours and head to work. I wrap the cardomon seeds in a cheese cloth and tie with butcher's twine. I just fish in out before serving. The needle and thread method recommended is way too much too ask of someone cooking dinner in a crockpot. I also recommend using more chicken then called for. I usually do 6 large thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Very Good! Now I just have to figure out how to make the Naan bread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Yummy. I eliminated the oil. Used red curry powder and green curry paste. Used 1 tsp of cardamon instead of the pods (no pods). Added the yoghurt in the last 20 minutes. Cooked on high for 6 hours. My first Indian dish that tasted Indian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Tried this recipe twice now and it really is worth its 5 stars. First time I tried the recipe I used chicken breast and found it quite dry (after being in the slow cooker for several hours) so would recommend using legs (or some other meat with a bit of fat on it.....might even try lamb !) Enjoy Hail Hail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was delicious. A five star if I mixed it with the right vegetables: diced potatoes, cauliflower. my husband might like asparagus and chile peppers. Served with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great recipe and very easy for the slow cooker. I did not sauté my ingredients, I simply put everything in at once in typical slow cooker style. I did increase the spices at lease by 50% and some double. My milk and yogurt did not curdle. I cooked on high for 4 hours with fairly small pieces of chicken. Very yummy and will defiantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Amazing! I forgot to buy tomato paste, so I used a jar of basil tomato pasta sauce, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Oh, I was so ready to love this, It really does smell delicious. But the taste really fell short for me. The chicken was a bit dry, I did it for 5hrs on low in the slower cooker. At the suggestion of others, I used 2 diced tomatoes instead of the tomato paste. And I added the yogurt during the last 30 mins of cooking. Its just lacking flavor. My house does smell delicious though. Very disappointed in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States