Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this following the recipe (doubling it) with a few minor changes - added extra curry paste and cardamom pods, and used Greek yogurt. I used around 12 small chicken thighs and I still feel like it could have used more chicken because there was a ton of sauce (but I could almost drink the sauce anyway.... So good!). Cooked 4 hours on low and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Mandziak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Followed directions exactly except - because I started too late I cooked it on the stovetop. I had very good quality spices which likely make a difference. I agree with other suggestion to add a splash of lemon juice at the end. I've eaten a lot of butter chicken and this was right up there and much quicker than the authentic recipes (which require yogurt marinade and multiple steps). I like that this recipe calls for coconut milk in place of the usual cream and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is really good, just like most all the other reviewers have said. I love it b/c I cooked it mid-afternoon and then transferred it to the crockpot. I am usually so tired by the end of the day that I don't want to spend a lot of time preparing a meal. With this recipe, I had most of the clean-up done by 3:00 and dinner was cooking away. All I had to do was turn the stove on to cook the rice. Simple!! I served it with my garden fresh cucumbers, onion and Greek yogurt salad.Big hit and a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was fantastic! I have a slow cooker that has a non-stick pot that goes from stove top to in the cooker without dirtying a pan to brown things first. I highly recommend it... So I cooked the onions and chicken on the stove, added the ingredients (used cardamom powder, had no tandoori masala so added some tumeric) Served with the basmati rice recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
So Good!!! Love the tip about the cardamom pods. We like a little more spice with our Indian food so I added a little Sambal Oeleck. It also didn't take as long in our slow cooker as it called for but ours is a turbo cooker. Other than that, this recipe is as good as it gets for Butter Chicken. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe The Meal Planner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This recipe seemed to have potential with all the spices, but really was terribly bland. On another note, this seemed like a lot of prep work and I just as easily could've let it simmer on the stove for a bit rather than simmer all day in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I love butter chicken and this recipe is pretty good. I made a double batch but had only 1 can of coconut milk, so I used a can of evaporated milk and it SMOOTHED it right out! So creamy and rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cur8tor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Mia
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Very simple to make and tastes delicious, just add a tsp of chili powder to give it a kick. You won't regret trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My family really liked this! I had to eliminate some items due to spiciness (I have young kiddos) and their unavailability in the grocery store, but it still had great flavor. I did not use curry paste, tandoori masala, or the cardamom pods, but I upped the quantity of the garam masala and the curry powder to 1 Tbsp each. Also, I added chopped zucchini and fresh spinach to the slow cooker for the final hour of cooking. YUM! Serve with Naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, even went to a small local Indian market for some of the ingredients I thought I might have trouble finding at the grocery store. It had a nice texture but I thought it was bland. I eat in Indian restaurants quite a bit and love most of the dishes. I don't think I've ever had butter chicken before. It may be that I am just not a fan of that particular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States