Slow Cooker Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Tried this recipe twice now and it really is worth its 5 stars. First time I tried the recipe I used chicken breast and found it quite dry (after being in the slow cooker for several hours) so would recommend using legs (or some other meat with a bit of fat on it.....might even try lamb !) Enjoy Hail Hail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was delicious. A five star if I mixed it with the right vegetables: diced potatoes, cauliflower. my husband might like asparagus and chile peppers. Served with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great recipe and very easy for the slow cooker. I did not sauté my ingredients, I simply put everything in at once in typical slow cooker style. I did increase the spices at lease by 50% and some double. My milk and yogurt did not curdle. I cooked on high for 4 hours with fairly small pieces of chicken. Very yummy and will defiantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Amazing! I forgot to buy tomato paste, so I used a jar of basil tomato pasta sauce, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Can I substitute ground cardamom for cardamom pods?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Oh, I was so ready to love this, It really does smell delicious. But the taste really fell short for me. The chicken was a bit dry, I did it for 5hrs on low in the slower cooker. At the suggestion of others, I used 2 diced tomatoes instead of the tomato paste. And I added the yogurt during the last 30 mins of cooking. Its just lacking flavor. My house does smell delicious though. Very disappointed in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Wow! This is superb! It is time consuming. First I bought organic chicken thighs and yogurt and tomato paste. The other, more exotic, ingredients were not to be found either at Kroger or at the international grocery. (Or else I just couldn't find them and no one who worked at the store seemed to speak much English.) I found the rest of the ingredients at Whole Foods. Thank goodness for the bulk spice section as I could just buy what I needed. We had to look up the ingredients on our smart phone as to how to make garam masala (this website) and tandoori masala (another website). I found curry paste and coconut milk. The cardamom pods were in the bulk spice section (if the first person doesn't know--ask someone else). When we got home, I strung the cardamom pods as directed (be sure to have a durable needle as mine broke). Then I made the garam masala and the tandoori masala. The next morning, fixed it exactly as directed. When it was ready to eat, I thought that it could benefit nutritionally from the addition of some frozen peas and the rest of a large package of raisins. Served it over rice and with naan. Is it as good as takeout? Absolutely, and it made a huge amount. Was it more expensive than takeout? Indubitably! Was it fun to make? Sure, as my husband helped me to hunt and gather ingredients and my mother kept me company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I've made this 2 times. The first as the recipe describes, pre-cooking everything. The second time I just put everything in and cooked it together. I can't say I noticed a difference, so from now on, I'm avoiding all the extra labor and just using the slow cooker. I did notice that the leftovers tasted better, so perhaps the extra time setting helped the flavor. Just a personal preference. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this for an Indian pot luck. Everybody raved about it, even the Indians! Used chicken thighs with bones still in and then pulled out the bones before serving and chopped up the thighs a little. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was great! Restaurant quality. It tastes even better leftover, I think because the spices mingle. I didn't use the cardamom pods and even without them it tasted exactly as I hoped it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States