Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Okay, let me say that I don't think just giving this 5 stars will express how much my fiance loved these sandwiches. Direct quotes from him: "This is the best thing to ever come out of a crockpot in the history of cooking", "I would eat my way out of a bathtub of this". LOL! Seriously, if we weren't already engaged, this stuff would have made him propose on the spot. :) The only change I made was to shred the chicken after 5 hours and then put it back into the crockpot to let it soak up all the sauce for another 2 hours. I served the meat on toasted Kaiser rolls with melted pepperjack cheese. Thank you very much, needless to say this will be a VERY regularly made recipe in our house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
921 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I would give this more stars if I could! This was sooooo good!! I "kind of" doubled the recipe. I used a 2.5# bag of frozen boneless chicken tenders and tossed in two 12 oz. bottles of Frank's Wing Sauce, a whole package of ranch dressing mix & 1/4 cup butter. I let it all cook together instead of adding sauce and butter at the end. This was plenty saucy and I think I will go with 3# of chicken next time (the leftovers are great)! Also great to use on the buffalo chicken pizza recipe on this site. I served this on crusty french bread with cheese and pepper rings. I am making this for the next party that comes around and I know it will be a hit. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This went over amazingly well with hubby and his buddies. I had a problem with my hot sauce evaporating about half way through the process, so I ended up adding the rest of the 23 oz bottle, which made it a bit too spicy . I enjoyed the little zip the ranch powder added to the chicken. Next time I make this I'll probably use some chicken broth for the first half of the cooking time and then add the hot sauce. I served the sandwiches with colby-jack cheese, shredded lettuce, and ranch dressing. I'm planning to use the leftovers for Buffalo Chicken pizza. Thanks for another great variation on buffalo chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was ok. I love hot wings so I have to say I missed the skin. I think this dish could use a bit of thigh meat, perhaps, to give a bit more chicken flavor & fat to it. (As my husband would say 'fat is where the flavor is'.) I also think it could do with a little less cook time because it does (especially with all white meat) dry out the meat and the end result for me was sauced dry bland breast meat. I think I'll try it again with the modifications I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was good, it had a nice kick, my husband really liked it. Next time I will add some blue cheese dressing on top when I serve it or buy some prepackaged coleslaw mix and mix it with blue cheese dressing to serve on the sandwiches.... it just needs a little something added to it. Good for game nights and very, very easy. This will be a keeper. I used franks red hot buffalo wing sauce and hidden valley ranch dressing pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Love, LOVE this recipe. I've been making the same thing ever since I found Frank's Hot sauce in the store! I always eat mine with lettuce and provolone cheese! These blow the restaurant version of the buffalo chicken sandwich out of the water. Another fun version I've come to love as well, is using the chicken to make buffalor chicken pizzas that are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mawoods420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracee Workman
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
These were really good, DH loved them. Substituted regular ranch for dry mix and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is awesome! The first time i made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was too spicey for my family. The second time I made it I used a 2 1/2lb bag frozed chicken tenderloins, 1 bottle of Franks Wing Sauce, a whole packet of ranch, 1/4c butter and 2 8oz whipped cream cheese (to tone down the spice). I put the cream cheese and butter at the bottom of the crock pot, then put the chicken on top and poured the bottle of wing sauce over it along with the packet of ranch. My family LOVED it!! The cream cheese really toned down the spiceyness! We had this o n samdwichs and I bought Boboli pizza crust, brushed it with olive oil and fresh minced garlic, baked it for 10 minutes, then spread ranch dressing on crust, spead buffalo chicken on next and topped with mozz. cheese. That was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I gave it 5 stars b/c DH loved, loved, loved it! He is the bigger fan of buffalo wings around here. Used a 4qt crock, 3 lg. breasts and Frank's sauce. Super easy, moist and even DH assembled it while I was at work today. I used fresh chicken so it only took about 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very, very easy to make. The chicken shreds easily. The buffalo sauce at the end was key, since without it, the chicken seems a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States