Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a very good borscht, my ukrainian grandmother used to make hers with beef, this one is very similar. The only change I made was using fresh dill instead of dried, and adding chopped flat leaf parsley just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is the best Borscht I have ever made. I have tried several different recipes and this is the best yet. I used 2 large beef steak garden tomatoes instead of canned - cooked on high for 3 3/4 hrs, added the cabbage and cooked on high another 45 minutes. fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent! LOL I don't like the smell of it cooking, but the taste is out of this world. Since I am alone I have a small slow cooker, and so cut the recipe in half. I like this so much that I am cooking it again tomorrow! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Yum!! Sorry, I didn't do everything in the recipe, here's what I did: 5 beets, first blanched to get the peel off more easily, then shredded No carrots, cause I didn't have any 5 cloves of garlic, cause I like it! 6 Tablespoons white vinegar, cause I didn't have any red wine A bunch of fresh dill, cause that's what was on hand! No parsley No cabbage I have yet to have a whole bowl but the bits that I've sampled have been amazing!! The consistency with this amount of broth comes out more like stew and I think when I do enjoy a bowl it will include milk or more runny yoghurt instead of the traditional sour cream to get a more soup like consistency. Thanks for sharing!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love Borscht and we loved this recipe! I hope those that like Borscht don't overlook this recipe. The only thing I changed was leaving out the stew meat. And only because we find it a little too heavy with meat. Other than that I didn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimJas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Married into a Ukrainian family- this is going to be my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This borshch recipe is a real keeper; one of the best I've ever tasted and easy to make. (No, "borshch" is not a typo: that's how the folks who invented the dish - Ukrainians, Russians, and other Slavs - call it). The beet tops are edible. They can be chopped and added to the borshch at the same time as the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
We had never had this before and were a little leary, but it was great. I made it exactly as the recipe asked and it turned out awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I never had Borscht before making this recipe, so there is nothing for me to compare this to but my own taste buds and it was GREAT even tho I forgot the cabbage! Perfect in the slow cooker. I prepared all the ingredients on Sunday and put it in the slow cooker Monday morning for a easy, comforting dinner ready when I got home. My boyfriend and his son both really liked it too. I will be making this again soon and remembering the cabbage next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Just tried this recipe last night and it turned out fantastic! I only made a few minor modifications - I used half the dill because I'm not a big fan and I did not add cabbage at the end due to lack of time (I also cooked on low for 12 hours overnight). I took some with me to work today, brought some for a coworker and sent the hubby with some and all of us thought it was great. The consistency was perfect, just inbetween soup & stew thickness and the flavour was delicious. I will defintely be using this as my new borscht recipe from now on, think I'll even make some more tomorrow to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States