Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a very good borscht, my ukrainian grandmother used to make hers with beef, this one is very similar. The only change I made was using fresh dill instead of dried, and adding chopped flat leaf parsley just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I liked this recipe, but will make a few changes the next time I cook it. I will add less vinegar - I personally found the flavor a bit overpowering. I found I needed almost 5 cups of broth to cover all the ingredients (once I had added the cabbage) and that the 30 minutes of cooking time on HI at the end wasn't nearly enough to cook the cabbage to the consistency that I prefer. In the future, I will add the cabbage quite a bit earlier. Otherwise I think this is a wonderful, savory borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I love beets and was looking forward to this stew. It looks pretty, I guess there is a disconnect between the look and the taste. I kept wanting to taste the beets and all I tasted was the tomato paste. Next time, I will leave out the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This borshch recipe is a real keeper; one of the best I've ever tasted and easy to make. (No, "borshch" is not a typo: that's how the folks who invented the dish - Ukrainians, Russians, and other Slavs - call it). The beet tops are edible. They can be chopped and added to the borshch at the same time as the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent! LOL I don't like the smell of it cooking, but the taste is out of this world. Since I am alone I have a small slow cooker, and so cut the recipe in half. I like this so much that I am cooking it again tomorrow! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love Borscht and we loved this recipe! I hope those that like Borscht don't overlook this recipe. The only thing I changed was leaving out the stew meat. And only because we find it a little too heavy with meat. Other than that I didn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimJas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
We had never had this before and were a little leary, but it was great. I made it exactly as the recipe asked and it turned out awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I omitted the beef stew, added vegatable stock and put all in my Vitamix for a yummy, creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Mikus
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Yum!! Sorry, I didn't do everything in the recipe, here's what I did: 5 beets, first blanched to get the peel off more easily, then shredded No carrots, cause I didn't have any 5 cloves of garlic, cause I like it! 6 Tablespoons white vinegar, cause I didn't have any red wine A bunch of fresh dill, cause that's what was on hand! No parsley No cabbage I have yet to have a whole bowl but the bits that I've sampled have been amazing!! The consistency with this amount of broth comes out more like stew and I think when I do enjoy a bowl it will include milk or more runny yoghurt instead of the traditional sour cream to get a more soup like consistency. Thanks for sharing!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe was okay. Maybe it was because we thought it was on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States