Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a very good borscht, my ukrainian grandmother used to make hers with beef, this one is very similar. The only change I made was using fresh dill instead of dried, and adding chopped flat leaf parsley just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I never had Borscht before making this recipe, so there is nothing for me to compare this to but my own taste buds and it was GREAT even tho I forgot the cabbage! Perfect in the slow cooker. I prepared all the ingredients on Sunday and put it in the slow cooker Monday morning for a easy, comforting dinner ready when I got home. My boyfriend and his son both really liked it too. I will be making this again soon and remembering the cabbage next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I thought this was good, but it was mainly beef stew with beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irisheyes_14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I liked this recipe, but will make a few changes the next time I cook it. I will add less vinegar - I personally found the flavor a bit overpowering. I found I needed almost 5 cups of broth to cover all the ingredients (once I had added the cabbage) and that the 30 minutes of cooking time on HI at the end wasn't nearly enough to cook the cabbage to the consistency that I prefer. In the future, I will add the cabbage quite a bit earlier. Otherwise I think this is a wonderful, savory borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe and I made just a few changes to accomodate my family's tastes: I added about 1/2 lb. more beef, omitted the potatoes and carrots--they don't freeze well and I made enough to freeze some--used canned julienned beets (30 oz including liquid), added three tablespoons worcestershire, two tablespoons hot sauce and 12 oz tomato juice instead of tomato paste. I also used a whole large caggage, shredded, and added it at the very beginning. Finally, I added 1/2 C golden raisins. This is the perfect one pot meal for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This just wasn't something anyone in our family enjoyed, even though we love beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent! LOL I don't like the smell of it cooking, but the taste is out of this world. Since I am alone I have a small slow cooker, and so cut the recipe in half. I like this so much that I am cooking it again tomorrow! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had this sitting in the slowcooker all day long, and I think the worst thing to add was the cabbage. We ended up not eating it. I am sorry, maybe it was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This bothered our tummies. I used the amount of vinegar called for, and I think that combined with the beets and cabbage was a bit much. We won't make it again, not that it was awful or anything, just not our style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe was okay. Maybe it was because we thought it was on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States