Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a very good borscht, my ukrainian grandmother used to make hers with beef, this one is very similar. The only change I made was using fresh dill instead of dried, and adding chopped flat leaf parsley just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I never had Borscht before making this recipe, so there is nothing for me to compare this to but my own taste buds and it was GREAT even tho I forgot the cabbage! Perfect in the slow cooker. I prepared all the ingredients on Sunday and put it in the slow cooker Monday morning for a easy, comforting dinner ready when I got home. My boyfriend and his son both really liked it too. I will be making this again soon and remembering the cabbage next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I thought this was good, but it was mainly beef stew with beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I liked this recipe, but will make a few changes the next time I cook it. I will add less vinegar - I personally found the flavor a bit overpowering. I found I needed almost 5 cups of broth to cover all the ingredients (once I had added the cabbage) and that the 30 minutes of cooking time on HI at the end wasn't nearly enough to cook the cabbage to the consistency that I prefer. In the future, I will add the cabbage quite a bit earlier. Otherwise I think this is a wonderful, savory borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe and I made just a few changes to accomodate my family's tastes: I added about 1/2 lb. more beef, omitted the potatoes and carrots--they don't freeze well and I made enough to freeze some--used canned julienned beets (30 oz including liquid), added three tablespoons worcestershire, two tablespoons hot sauce and 12 oz tomato juice instead of tomato paste. I also used a whole large caggage, shredded, and added it at the very beginning. Finally, I added 1/2 C golden raisins. This is the perfect one pot meal for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This just wasn't something anyone in our family enjoyed, even though we love beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent! LOL I don't like the smell of it cooking, but the taste is out of this world. Since I am alone I have a small slow cooker, and so cut the recipe in half. I like this so much that I am cooking it again tomorrow! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had this sitting in the slowcooker all day long, and I think the worst thing to add was the cabbage. We ended up not eating it. I am sorry, maybe it was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This bothered our tummies. I used the amount of vinegar called for, and I think that combined with the beets and cabbage was a bit much. We won't make it again, not that it was awful or anything, just not our style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe was okay. Maybe it was because we thought it was on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States