Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
We had never had this before and were a little leary, but it was great. I made it exactly as the recipe asked and it turned out awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This borshch recipe is a real keeper; one of the best I've ever tasted and easy to make. (No, "borshch" is not a typo: that's how the folks who invented the dish - Ukrainians, Russians, and other Slavs - call it). The beet tops are edible. They can be chopped and added to the borshch at the same time as the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I omitted the beef stew, added vegatable stock and put all in my Vitamix for a yummy, creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Mikus
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love Borscht and we loved this recipe! I hope those that like Borscht don't overlook this recipe. The only thing I changed was leaving out the stew meat. And only because we find it a little too heavy with meat. Other than that I didn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimJas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I love beets and was looking forward to this stew. It looks pretty, I guess there is a disconnect between the look and the taste. I kept wanting to taste the beets and all I tasted was the tomato paste. Next time, I will leave out the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I guess my husband & I are not fans of borscht. We struggled to eat this as not to throw it away. So glad it's gone. I like beets, but it just made ALL the ingredients the same color and made it unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Yum!! Sorry, I didn't do everything in the recipe, here's what I did: 5 beets, first blanched to get the peel off more easily, then shredded No carrots, cause I didn't have any 5 cloves of garlic, cause I like it! 6 Tablespoons white vinegar, cause I didn't have any red wine A bunch of fresh dill, cause that's what was on hand! No parsley No cabbage I have yet to have a whole bowl but the bits that I've sampled have been amazing!! The consistency with this amount of broth comes out more like stew and I think when I do enjoy a bowl it will include milk or more runny yoghurt instead of the traditional sour cream to get a more soup like consistency. Thanks for sharing!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe was okay. Maybe it was because we thought it was on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This bothered our tummies. I used the amount of vinegar called for, and I think that combined with the beets and cabbage was a bit much. We won't make it again, not that it was awful or anything, just not our style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had this sitting in the slowcooker all day long, and I think the worst thing to add was the cabbage. We ended up not eating it. I am sorry, maybe it was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States