Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
We had never had this before and were a little leary, but it was great. I made it exactly as the recipe asked and it turned out awesome. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This borshch recipe is a real keeper; one of the best I've ever tasted and easy to make. (No, "borshch" is not a typo: that's how the folks who invented the dish - Ukrainians, Russians, and other Slavs - call it). The beet tops are edible. They can be chopped and added to the borshch at the same time as the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I omitted the beef stew, added vegatable stock and put all in my Vitamix for a yummy, creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Mikus
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I love Borscht and we loved this recipe! I hope those that like Borscht don't overlook this recipe. The only thing I changed was leaving out the stew meat. And only because we find it a little too heavy with meat. Other than that I didn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimJas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I love beets and was looking forward to this stew. It looks pretty, I guess there is a disconnect between the look and the taste. I kept wanting to taste the beets and all I tasted was the tomato paste. Next time, I will leave out the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I guess my husband & I are not fans of borscht. We struggled to eat this as not to throw it away. So glad it's gone. I like beets, but it just made ALL the ingredients the same color and made it unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shans
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Yum!! Sorry, I didn't do everything in the recipe, here's what I did: 5 beets, first blanched to get the peel off more easily, then shredded No carrots, cause I didn't have any 5 cloves of garlic, cause I like it! 6 Tablespoons white vinegar, cause I didn't have any red wine A bunch of fresh dill, cause that's what was on hand! No parsley No cabbage I have yet to have a whole bowl but the bits that I've sampled have been amazing!! The consistency with this amount of broth comes out more like stew and I think when I do enjoy a bowl it will include milk or more runny yoghurt instead of the traditional sour cream to get a more soup like consistency. Thanks for sharing!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe was okay. Maybe it was because we thought it was on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This bothered our tummies. I used the amount of vinegar called for, and I think that combined with the beets and cabbage was a bit much. We won't make it again, not that it was awful or anything, just not our style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I had this sitting in the slowcooker all day long, and I think the worst thing to add was the cabbage. We ended up not eating it. I am sorry, maybe it was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States