Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It was delicious , I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this for dinner and it was great. The only change I made was instead of beef stew meat I added smoked beef brisket. Great recipe, will make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is cooking as we speak...smells pretty good, but I used cider vinegar instead of red wine...now I'm thinking that might have been a bad idea.. I wasn't sure how big your beets were or how big your potatoes were, but I had two giant (size of tennis balls) and 3 small (size of golf balls). I used purple potatoes and will use red cabbage so this should be REALLY red. I think I'll puree some just to thicken the soup. I otherwise haven't changed a thing. P.S. I didn't puree and glad I didn't this was wonderful as is, thought the beets lost their color in the broth. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Just tried this recipe last night and it turned out fantastic! I only made a few minor modifications - I used half the dill because I'm not a big fan and I did not add cabbage at the end due to lack of time (I also cooked on low for 12 hours overnight). I took some with me to work today, brought some for a coworker and sent the hubby with some and all of us thought it was great. The consistency was perfect, just inbetween soup & stew thickness and the flavour was delicious. I will defintely be using this as my new borscht recipe from now on, think I'll even make some more tomorrow to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Married into a Ukrainian family- this is going to be my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is the best Borscht I have ever made. I have tried several different recipes and this is the best yet. I used 2 large beef steak garden tomatoes instead of canned - cooked on high for 3 3/4 hrs, added the cabbage and cooked on high another 45 minutes. fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Made this vegan style without the stew meat, and minus the potatoes for a very fat free, low cal soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This turned out great! Although my daughter doesn't like the cabbage (she prefers a simpler borscht with less ingredients)... so I'll omit that next time, because it doesn't need it (I tasted it before adding cabbage and it was delicious!). I also did NOT put in the carrots.. for no particular reason. But, it doesn't need carrots either. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was good, but the slow cooker cooked all the beautiful color out of the beets, so it looks like ham soup. I made it without the beef or tomato paste, subbed veg broth, and subbed cider vinegar (according to another recipe I've used). Good flavor, but I'll probably stick with my other, non-slow-cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This soup turned out well. Kind of a sweet and sour taste that was unique, and not bad. Made for some great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States