Slow Cooker Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Being from Ukraine, I've had my share of borscht variations. This is a hearty, perfect for fall recipe. I used only one potato and still had so much and my slow cooker was full. I went lighter in vinegar, but I would stick to recipe. I think it adds to sodium taste, and it works for me since I don't add salt. I used fresh dill. Served it with fresh dill, and Mexican cream. It was effortless and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina Royter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Although I didn't use a slow cooker, I used all of the ingredients and amounts (a little more broth though). This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Amazing! Add in canned Diced Tomatoes with Chilies for a spicy kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Wonderful recipe, I love using my slow cooker when I get the chance :) What I wish I would've done: added all the veggies at the beginning! Even the "high" temp isn't really hot enough to disintegrate anything like I though it would. I sear my beef (after tossing in seasoned flour) before starting :S Include the beet greens for sure, half the vinegar, skip the tomato paste, and I blended 1/3 of the soup at the end in the blender until super smooth (after picking out the beef cubes) and re-added to the soup to make a really nice consistency. I found it quite soupy without doing that. Incredible flavour, minimal effort. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Great flavor and easy to make. I was in a hurry and I didn't chop the beets, carrots, and potatoes as finely as I should of. I cooked on high for 41/2 hours and the veggies weren't cooked through. Needed extra time. I would recommend chopping into smaller pieces. I also want to try this recipe again with polish sausage instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
A simple, Great recipe and pretty darn close to the way my Ukrainian Grandmother made hers. I hate to say I may have enjoyed this more (she never used meat in hers, that definitely made it more flavorful). I didn't have stew meat so I used country style pork ribs, very tender and a yummy addition! I did add more seasoning and more beef broth towards the end of cooking as I didn't really measure the cabbage, I cheated and used a few heaping handfuls of the pre-shredded slaw mix instead of cutting up my own and I added a few more potatoes than suggested. I felt I needed a bit more salt & garlic after adding the cabbage. But flavor just boils down to preference, some prefer this dish a bit more bland, I don't. I'm also not a measurer when I cook, I'm a taster and add as I go, some of you may need to do the same. All in all even with my small changes, this recipe is awesome on it's own, definitely worth a try. BTW, I let this cook for 10 hours, added the cabbage and let it cook for 2 more hours. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Made this tonight with some modifications that worked out well. We had a huge container of leftover homemade (heavily spiced) tomato sauce, which I substituted instead of the canned tomatoes and paste. Because the sauce was so thick, I used a full 28 oz container of beef broth instead of the 2 cups. AND, I only used 3 beets as that's how many came in a bunch. It turned out amazing with plenty leftover for lunches and another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Really good. The beef came out a bit dry, but I think that's BC it was too lean. Will try with diff cut next time. Like the vinegar and sweetness of this dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe states and am giving it three stars because it IS flavorful. The problem for me is that it's TOO flavorful! It was so tangy that both my husband and I could only handle eating one serving each. Although I generally love vinegary/tangy dishes, this one was over the top even for me. Possibly would have been better with half the amount of vinegar called for. Probably won't make this again as it also left a very pungent scent throughout the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved this borscht, simmered on stove top for 3 hours, rather than crock pot, left out the meat and added cup of curly kale. Froze the leftovers and it was better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grannygamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cazadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States