Slow Cooker Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
delicious very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made this for the recipe group selection of 8/13/11. I made very few changes: Browned the carrots and onions w/o the garlic, added them to the crockpot. Browned the beef/pork combo, drained the oil, added the milk and simmered until the milk was incorporated. (I felt this was an important step as I've never seen it in any other recipe!) I then added the meat and rest of the ingredients (except the cheese) plus a few shakes of garlic powder to the crockpot. Cooked on low for 7 hours, turned the temperature down to Warm and stirred in the cheese. This was definately worth the prep time. Hubby kept eating the sauce like chili (sans pasta) and asked me to put the rest in the freezer so he wouldn't OD on it....lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was the Recipe Group Selection for 8/13/11. I had never had a Bolognese before so I had no other Bolognese to compare it to, but we thought it was delicious. The changes I made were minimal: using 1% milk and half the amount of red pepper flakes. I had bought organic grass-fed chopped beef at the farmers market which was an incredible quality. I browned the meat separately as other reviewers had done. If you are looking for a fast, throw everything in the pot, stir and head to work type of recipe, this isn’t it . . . but it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Hi - this is my recipe and I just wanted to note that I have switched from using 1 lb ground beef to 1 lb "meatloaf mix" (a ground beef/pork blend) and it really enhances the flavor of the sauce. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VD711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Wonderful and so easy to make. I have to admit that I took the advice of another reviewer and I browned the hamburger meat, drained off the grease and added it to the slow cooker. Then I added the rest of the ingredients and set the slow cooker on low for 5-6 hours. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I made this for the recipe group selection of 8/13/11. I've never had Bolognese however had just seen a cooking show on how to make it. Even though this recipe is slightly different, the one thing the chef said was how important is is to cook the carrot and onions separately, then adding the meat and cooking thoroughly for the right flavoring. So I followed the recipe's instructions to a tee and cooked the time specified. I thought this would taste just like regular spaghetti sauce, but it had a distinct rich meaty flavor. Everyone raved about it...lots of yum yums being murmured. I served it over wide egg noodles to hold the heavy sauce better. For certain I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This recipe was delicious! I made a couple changes - skipped the basil, oregano, & red pepper flakes and I only browned the meat, not the carrots, onions, & garlic. I also added 1 16oz can of tomato sauce. Once the meat was browned, I threw in all the ingredients & turned the crock pot on low for 8 hours....PERFECT!! Even my mother loved it and my brother said it was just like grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This was GREAT and my family loved it. I definitely appreciated the convenience and lack of mess--normally when I simmer pasta sauce it splatters and creates a mess, but this solved the problem. It won't become my go-to bolognese, but it was flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
We really enjoyed this spaghetti sauce, it was delicious! I would definitely make this again. Easy and Yummy, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Loved this recipe! Followed it as written except I used 1% milk instead of whole. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States