Slow Cooker Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I don't understand the great reviews. Made no changes and it was so bland. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I am impressed at how good this is! I will be making this again and again! My husband loved it. It tastes very upscale and authentic. Perfect for entertaining! I made it as written; wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
DELICIOUS! The hardest part is chopping up the carrots and onions, but other than that, this was a breeze to put together, smelled wonderful and tasted great! My only issue, and it's due to my own personal preference, is that next time, I will cut the oregano and basil both by half...it was a little too 'herby' for me, but again, that's my preference. I used meatloaf mix, as others suggeated, as well. If you're really short on time, I don't see why this couldn't be assembled the night before and just cooked when ready. This is a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Our family just didn't care for it. It was a little bland for our taste. I made according to recipe and everyone said it was just OK. I heated the leftovers but added more garlic, oregano, salt and some cayenne pepper and they liked it more than the first time but asked that I stick to what I usually make. I admit we are an extremely picky family when it comes to spaghetti sauces. Thanks for submitting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Terrific recipe! A bit involved in the beginning but worth it. I used sweet-Italian style sausage (turkey)instead of the ground beef simply because I had it and it needed to be used. Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for the family last night and it was a huge hit. I used a combination ground beef & ground sausage (meatloaf mix w/out the veal) that was just a little over a pound. I also used crushed tomatoes with Italian herbs and I kept the pasta separate using spiral noodles. This recipe will be used again and again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I thought this sauce turned out great!!! I only made a few minor changes per other's suggustions. I added a bit of celery, and browned all the vegetables first. Removed, then browned a mix of ground beef and ground pork. Also at the end, I threw in a splash of red wine with the last milk addition. It was a big hit with my crew!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this yesterday and we all loved it (including a 7 yo who doesn't like gravy or ground beef). This is the best recipe I have made on here in quite a while. I made almost as directed, but substitued meatloaf mix for the ground beef. I didn't have dried basil, so I used some italian seasoning. I think I added a bit less seasoning too. If I were making for myself, and not 3 little kids, I would kick up the crushed pepper. I removed the carrots/onion/garlic before I sauteed the meat. Cooked on low 4 hours, added remaining milk and cheese and cooked on low another 4. Served over fresh pasta. Will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Can't figure out what I did wrong but following the recipe exactly, our Bolognese was tasteless. Fortunately I had cooked a side dish of sweet sausages and that added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Can't give 5 start because I did change a few things. I doubled the recipe using 1 lb. beef & 1 lb. italian sausage. Did not have whole milk, used 2% with some 1/2 & 1/2. Next time try all beef. Family enjoyed including the 15 year old grandson. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Davisburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States