Slow Cooker Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I usually just make meat sauce by browning some ground beef and winging it - a couple cans of crushed tomatoes, garlic, onions, and a few shakes of Italian seasoning... but when my kids order spaghetti "bolognese" when we are out to dinner, it was just so much better than mine, so I thought I would try a real recipe. And what a difference it makes! The biggest change was adding carrots (for just a touch of sweetness and cuts the acidity of the tomatoes) and the milk. I would never have thought to do that... We ate it one night over spaghetti (kids ate all the pasta so hubby had to have it over a baked potato since he got home late) - and tonight I made a "beefaroni" casserole with the leftover sauce - basically just macaroni and sauce and a few handfuls of whatever Italian cheese happens to be in the house. Delicious and something the whole family likes! I might try with the Meatloaf mix or also with some Italian sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good recipe. I'm giving it 3 stars because I followed it and it was bland to me. So glad I tasted it and I was able to add more seasoning. I added onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and upped the red pepper. After I added the milk and cheese to the crockpot I let it cook on low for the next 2 hours. Tasted much better after that. I'm serving it over spaghetti squash and freezing the rest for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe. Only thing I changed was added a tbsp of sugar to add a bit of sweetness. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Very simple, and very tasty. I served it over spaghetti squash, which also made it very healthy! I loved how meaty it is. UPDATE: Made it using 1/2 mild italian sausage and 1/2 very lean ground beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I just made this for the second time last night. My family and I love it, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a great, easy to use recipe. It was very flavorful. I'd recommend to anyone wanting to make an excellent bolognese. I'm not a fan of the meatloaf addition though as it makes it too sweet with the ketchup (which is mostly sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.J. Upjohn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portola Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Smelled wonderful while cooking; taste was disappointing. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this exactly to the T- except I ran short on time and didn't have enough cooktime to make in the crockpot- I just did it on the stove top and let it simmer for a while. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Did not change a thing. It had a very good rich flavor that meat sauce lacks. I will def. make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was fine but not outstanding. I did not have whole milk, I used skim, but i can not imagine that made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Chadwick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States