Slow Cooker Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I make this recipe exactly as written and everyone that has tried it, has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I did everythg to make it taste better. Neither of us cared for it. I love the bolognese you get at Macaroni Grill; I guess I thought it wd taste like theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was GREAT! Tasted authentic to a good Italian restaurant. I used a 'meatloaf mix' rather than just ground beef. The meatloaf mix contains pork and veal. This is a fantastic way to stretch one pound of meat! I recommend using San Marzano tomatoes for a richer flavor. My oven has a 'slow cooker' setting so I cooked it in that. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Great recipe! I added extra crushed red since we love heat but otherwise cooked it by the recipe! Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very tasty and authentic. I happened to not have carrots when making this and substituted it with a teaspoon of sugar. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was very good. I made it with ground beef & pork as well and I think it added more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I usually just make meat sauce by browning some ground beef and winging it - a couple cans of crushed tomatoes, garlic, onions, and a few shakes of Italian seasoning... but when my kids order spaghetti "bolognese" when we are out to dinner, it was just so much better than mine, so I thought I would try a real recipe. And what a difference it makes! The biggest change was adding carrots (for just a touch of sweetness and cuts the acidity of the tomatoes) and the milk. I would never have thought to do that... We ate it one night over spaghetti (kids ate all the pasta so hubby had to have it over a baked potato since he got home late) - and tonight I made a "beefaroni" casserole with the leftover sauce - basically just macaroni and sauce and a few handfuls of whatever Italian cheese happens to be in the house. Delicious and something the whole family likes! I might try with the Meatloaf mix or also with some Italian sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good recipe. I'm giving it 3 stars because I followed it and it was bland to me. So glad I tasted it and I was able to add more seasoning. I added onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and upped the red pepper. After I added the milk and cheese to the crockpot I let it cook on low for the next 2 hours. Tasted much better after that. I'm serving it over spaghetti squash and freezing the rest for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe. Only thing I changed was added a tbsp of sugar to add a bit of sweetness. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Very simple, and very tasty. I served it over spaghetti squash, which also made it very healthy! I loved how meaty it is. UPDATE: Made it using 1/2 mild italian sausage and 1/2 very lean ground beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States