Slow Cooker Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I did everythg to make it taste better. Neither of us cared for it. I love the bolognese you get at Macaroni Grill; I guess I thought it wd taste like theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was GREAT! Tasted authentic to a good Italian restaurant. I used a 'meatloaf mix' rather than just ground beef. The meatloaf mix contains pork and veal. This is a fantastic way to stretch one pound of meat! I recommend using San Marzano tomatoes for a richer flavor. My oven has a 'slow cooker' setting so I cooked it in that. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Great recipe! I added extra crushed red since we love heat but otherwise cooked it by the recipe! Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very tasty and authentic. I happened to not have carrots when making this and substituted it with a teaspoon of sugar. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was very good. I made it with ground beef & pork as well and I think it added more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I usually just make meat sauce by browning some ground beef and winging it - a couple cans of crushed tomatoes, garlic, onions, and a few shakes of Italian seasoning... but when my kids order spaghetti "bolognese" when we are out to dinner, it was just so much better than mine, so I thought I would try a real recipe. And what a difference it makes! The biggest change was adding carrots (for just a touch of sweetness and cuts the acidity of the tomatoes) and the milk. I would never have thought to do that... We ate it one night over spaghetti (kids ate all the pasta so hubby had to have it over a baked potato since he got home late) - and tonight I made a "beefaroni" casserole with the leftover sauce - basically just macaroni and sauce and a few handfuls of whatever Italian cheese happens to be in the house. Delicious and something the whole family likes! I might try with the Meatloaf mix or also with some Italian sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good recipe. I'm giving it 3 stars because I followed it and it was bland to me. So glad I tasted it and I was able to add more seasoning. I added onion powder, garlic powder, Italian seasoning and upped the red pepper. After I added the milk and cheese to the crockpot I let it cook on low for the next 2 hours. Tasted much better after that. I'm serving it over spaghetti squash and freezing the rest for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Loved this recipe. Only thing I changed was added a tbsp of sugar to add a bit of sweetness. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Very simple, and very tasty. I served it over spaghetti squash, which also made it very healthy! I loved how meaty it is. UPDATE: Made it using 1/2 mild italian sausage and 1/2 very lean ground beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I just made this for the second time last night. My family and I love it, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States