Slow Cooker Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this exactly to the T- except I ran short on time and didn't have enough cooktime to make in the crockpot- I just did it on the stove top and let it simmer for a while. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Did not change a thing. It had a very good rich flavor that meat sauce lacks. I will def. make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was fine but not outstanding. I did not have whole milk, I used skim, but i can not imagine that made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Chadwick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I have not tried it yet, but authentic bolognese (Marcella Hazan Classic Italian Cookbook) contains celery and does not brown the meat, just removes it of its color before adding the milk. Fresh grated nutmeg is stirred in after adding the milk. Then a cup of dry white wine is added and allowed to evaporate. Only afterward are the canned tomatoes incorporated. Then it is to be cooked 3 hrs. uncovered at a very, very low simmer. The end result is a very delicate, subtly flavored thick sauce. I will uncover the crockpot for the last couple of hours to allow it to thicken and not add any additional liquid until necessary. She suggests thinning it with a little water if it becomes necessary.I will make this tomorrow and let you know the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Way too much tomato in this Americanized version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I love LOVE this recipe! I've made several times and always use meatloaf mix so you also have some ground pork and ground veal with the beef for added flavor. Also I add some finely chopped celery and some chopped celery leaves. Serve over tortellini or cavatelli and this recipe is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I think this is a good standard bolognese, and bet that someone's suggestion for sausage or the author's suggested meatloaf mix would be really good. Followed the recipe pretty much to a T (other than an 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper) and also threw in a piece of parmesan rind to the second cooking section, but not sure if that did very much. Definitely as people said - got a good meaty flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
The flavour and consistency was incredible! Excellent recipe. I didn't have canned crushed tomatoes, so I quickly searched online and made a substitute with fresh tomatoes. I will absolutely make this again & recommend to others. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
ok, I didn't feel like it was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious! Made with meatloaf mix as the recipe creator recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States