Slow Cooker Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I'd like to know if this can be doubled in a large crockpot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The only problem with this and other recipes is they cook vegetables and add the meat after and then drain fat. When you do this you drain all your vegetable juices along with the fat. Reverse the procedure and brown meat first, drain the fat, then add vegetables!!! Much more flavor!!! Saying this, the recipe was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very easy assembly. I used the left over sauce for lasagna. I changed it up a bit and used meatloaf mix (ground pork, veal and beef), used heavy cream in place of the milk, browned the chopped vegetables and after a few mins added the tomato paste to the pan. I put the raw meat in the crock pot and occasionally lifted the lid to break it up with a potato masher. This came out fantastic! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner and it came out excellent. My changes: used 1 lb hot italian sausage (instead of beef) and added about 1/2 cup fresh chopped parsley. Will be my go-to bolognese. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I make this recipe exactly as written and everyone that has tried it, has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I did everythg to make it taste better. Neither of us cared for it. I love the bolognese you get at Macaroni Grill; I guess I thought it wd taste like theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was GREAT! Tasted authentic to a good Italian restaurant. I used a 'meatloaf mix' rather than just ground beef. The meatloaf mix contains pork and veal. This is a fantastic way to stretch one pound of meat! I recommend using San Marzano tomatoes for a richer flavor. My oven has a 'slow cooker' setting so I cooked it in that. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Great recipe! I added extra crushed red since we love heat but otherwise cooked it by the recipe! Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very tasty and authentic. I happened to not have carrots when making this and substituted it with a teaspoon of sugar. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was very good. I made it with ground beef & pork as well and I think it added more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States