Slow Cooker Blackberry Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
What I did differently was use a tart cherry preserves instead of blackberry (husband's preference); instead of rosemary I used a rosemary/garlic blend together with the rubbed sage because that's what I had on hand. It came out great but the cooking time is definitely too long. I made the wine reduction, doubled, and added dried bing cherries since I used the cherry preserves; added it to the juices in from the pork, thickened it up, added 1-2 TBL butter and it was fabulous. My husband and my son loved it as did I. Will make it again maybe with a loin and cook for a lesser amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
An excellent slow cooker meal. I found the cooking time too long, but may be it is just my slow cooker. I put my tenderloin in still frozen and after 6 hours on low it was a little overcooked for my taste. I made some modifications (sorry) based on what I had on hand and personal preference: reduced the jam to about 1/2 cup, and honey to 2 tbsp, but left the wine at 2 tbsp and reduced the ground sage to about 1/8 tsp and the rosemary to about 1/2 tsp (personal preference) and added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Because there was so much liquid in the crock pot, I didn't bother with the sauce. I blended a couple of tablespoons of flour into about 1/4 cup of water in a small pot, then added the liquid from the crock pot, and brought it to a boil until it thickened. My kids really liked this meal and I will definitely make it again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was amazing! I don't care for fresh blackberries normally but this was delicious and had the perfect balance between sweet and savory! i seared the tenderloin first in a pan and used that pan with the drippings to make the sauce which I think added more flavor. I did end up adding a little roux to the sauce to thicken it up. Absolute 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Magnificent recipe, really brought out the sweetness of the pork without being the least bit cloying. The fresh blackberries gave a lovely tart contrast as well. I made this mostly as written, but in a covered roasting pan in the oven, with a little extra red wine and a bit of water to give a little more liquid, and about 2 tablespoons of good quality wholegrain mustard mixed through the jam. I'd say this would work beautifully for venison as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Easy recipe and tastes great! My whole family love this recipe and I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I am 50/50 on this recipe. I liked it, thought it was a nice flavor, yet at the same time I would never make it again since I didn't love it enough. I did like the ease of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is my favourite recipe. Not only is it one of the easiest, it tastes great and has a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The anticipation of this was better than it turned out my husband and I agreed; the 3 year old didn't take to it at all. The meat didn't pick up the flavor as much as I thought it would have. All around a good meal but hardly not worth the long cook time and expensive ingredients. An entire jar of Jam for one meal - I just thought the meat would have tasted a little more fruity instead of having to rely on the sauces so much for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedtigeress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Fabulous, even with my modifications. I got home late and had to cook it on High. Used the probe, cooked to 165*F and it took about 2.5 hours. I am a HUGE fan of wine reductions but wasn't sure if my kids would like it full-on, so I poured the cooking liquid in a saucepan and added about 1/4c red wineong with the blackberries, midway through. Reduced on med-high. Added some additional rosemary, black pepper, and ~2T of butter. Yummy! I think that I would have preferred the wine reduction more but my 7yo and 3yo seemed to enjoy this lighter version. Next time I will try the full-on wine reduction sauce in addition to searing the meat first. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Pork was so tender and the sauce was very good. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States