Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
VERY disappointed!! I was looking forward to enjoying this all day as it cooked, but it just didn't work for husband or me. Even though I used additional seasoning as others suggested, the meat itself was nearly tasteless. Without the BBQ sauce added later, it would not have been usable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I used two bottles of Blue Moon beer when I made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
My husband and I have made this twice and love it! It's simple to make and delicious! We used Blue Moon (what we had on hand) and Famous Dave's Sweet & Zesty BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I followed the recipe almost exactly (I used a 4 lb pork loin) and it was wonderful! Tasty and juicy! My husband and ALL my kids loved it. After I shredded the pork I mixed in the bbq sauce and put it back in the crockpot to keep warm. There is no need to let it cook in the sauce for another hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Not being a beer fan, I decided to try a hard cider instead. I also followed someone else's suggestion and put coarsely chopped onions on the bottom of the crock pot. The pork fell apart and was moist and flavorful. The combination of apple and onion was enough for me - I didn't need barbecue sauce on mine. But Stubb's brand Whiskey and Hickory barbecue sauce was a hit with everyone else. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
second time i made this, just gets better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Super Bowl hit! I used shoulder pork roast, onion flakes, 3 cloves dminced garlic, Sweet Baby Rays sweet and spicy BBQ sauce, 1 bottle Bud, pepper, some red pepper flakes and a teaspoon liquid smoke. High for an hour as recommended, then cooked for 8 more hours. Guests were amazed. I think the beer really is the trick. Served on warmed water rolls from Publix deli. Delish! This one is going on my party rotation menu. Homemade deviled eggs, baked beans, cole slaw and you are done! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Waldrop Bain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bellamara
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
We put ours one kings Hawaiian rolls with some cole slaw! Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
So easy, serve like a slider on King's Hawaian Savory Butter rolls! Go Patriots:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this for a large group of guests who came to our home to watch the Sugar Bowl. I made it exactly as described, except I used a gluten free beer (Redbridge) and omitted the salt because of dietary restrictions. The butt was 5.5 lbs and required 12 hours on low. I turned it once after 7 or 8 hours. It was so tender, that I had to remove it from the slow cooker in pieces with a spatula. I cooked the meat (carefully trimmed of any remaining fat or membranes and then pulled with two forks) with 12 oz. of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce as described. I left it on low in the crockpot for 2-3 hours instead of the recommended one hour and some of the sauce caramelized on the side of the crock. It would probably be better to stick to one hour or to stir the meat and sauce occationally. The result was superb. I've made pulled pork dozens of times following several different recipes and this recipe is far and away the best. It was even a pretty good antidote for the pain we experienced as we watched Ohio State beat up on the Crimson Tide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States