Slow Cooker Beef and Mushroom Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Added garlic and made the sauce creamy just before serving. husband said he wanted it more creamy not brothy. Takes a little prep the night before. Nice recipe for a cold Winter dinner coming home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is an amazing recipe for beef stew. It adds a degree of sophistication but is so simple to make. I did add some celery and green beans. The flavor is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Will probably not make again. If I do it will be without the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I used everything but the whole small onions (chopped up half a full-sized yellow onion instead) and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonegalH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gallatin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because there were several changes I made to the recipe. There was not enough salt as some reviewers said..so I seasoned the meat with salt, pepper and garlic powder before coating with flour and browning in the oil(not enough). I didn't have a roast or stew meat so used carne adada meat(thin and cut in strips) so it only took 3 hrs to cook, 1 on high and 2 on low...I also didn't have the condensed soup, red wine, pearl onions or regular mushrooms or carrots, so I used beef broth, sherry wine, chopped onions and portabello mushrooms and baby carrots. I found it needed alot more liquid than stated. I was really glad I had homemade beef broth on hand. It smelled amazing while it was cooking and tasted great for dinner. I served it over egg noodles and the family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We liked this. It was easy and the meat came out very tender. My only complaint is that it was a bit bland. This was easily remedied by adding salt (about 1/2 tsp). After browning the meat and removing it from the pan, I deglazed the pan with some of the wine and scraped off the fond, then poured this into the slow cooker. Don't want to waste those flavorful brown bits! We served this over egg noodles, but it would be good with mashed potatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I didn't have pearl onions so I quartered half of a yellow onion. Also I cooked on high for 5 hrs, not low for 11. Easy, delicious, and everything came out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
AMAZING!!! So easy to prepare...wonderful meal on a cool, crisp Autumn day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as listed, and it was very much the worst stew I've ever eaten. My son hated it, my husband only ate a few pieces of meat, and I couldn't finish my bowl either. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Hit with family. Per other reviews I added a packet of onion soup mix. I doubled the onion soup can because I had a larger size roast. I also used a can of beef broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States