Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This recipe was so easy and my fiance said it was a 5-star dinner . . . the only reason I rated it 4 stars is because I used only half the can of tomatoes (per other reviews) and added an extra fresh potato and a carrot. If I hadn't done this, the tomato flavor would have been completely overwhelming. Oh, and I cooked it for 8 hours so the fresh carrot and potato would soften up during the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
super easy to make and really tasty not to mention filling. Awesome recipe! I put in over 2 lbs of beef for a double batch and I was happy with the meat to soup ratio :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this recipe. Which I thought was very good. Would have given it 5 stars except did not make enough broth, mine came out more like a stew, next time will have to add beef broth or more tomatoes. And just my opinion, I felt like it was missing something to give it a little bit more flavor. Will have to go through reviews and see what other people did to give it a little more zip. Thank you for the recipe, it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Five stars because it is so simple to make but still delicious. This should be a winter staple of every busy parent! The recipe is good as stated but can easily be improved if you have a little time by doing the following: Brown the beef before adding to your slow cooker (I used 1.5 lbs. of beef). Substitute a can of Veg-All for the can of carrots. Add a can of beef broth. Saute a medium sliced onion and a clove of minced garlic and add it to the soup about an hour before it is done. Excellent served with cornbread or a crusty baguette and butter. So yummy but delightfully simple! Freezes well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
What a wonderful surprise! I generally don't cook with canned vegetables and rarely use the crock pot. But I printed out this recipe a while ago and kept bumping into it so I finally decided to make it on this gloomy, rainy weekend. I added a cup of beef broth as I like brothy soup, but I didn't change anything else. It came out amazingly tasty. I am taking cooking classes and learning to cook foods in new ways, using farro, farmer's market ingredients, etc. That's nice, but sometimes it's great to just throw everything basic into a pot and let it cook. Making a good soup can't get easier than this recipe. - urs3477
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe is great and simple. I did do all fresh veggies, not canned and it was terrific. And I did add beef stock too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We LOVE this soup! Easy to put together, tastes great! I experimented and replaced the large can of tomatoes with a small can of diced tomatoes and a carton of the Campbell's specialty tomato and roasted garlic soup, and we very much liked the change. I've shared this recipe with all of my friends. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter and loved it. I have used the beef with onion soup mix in something else before and thought it was too salty. Added a soupson' of water to the crockpot and it came out deliciously. YUM MIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very good, but like most i made some substitutions. Used frozen veggies since I don't like canned and also added cubed red potatoes. Added about 6-8 cups of water and 2 beef boullion cubes as well as 1/4 cup dry red wine (cab sav was open so I went with it). Also added 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp onion powder. I was nervous since I read a lot of the good and bad reviews but overall good and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine McCann Shelton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Family loved it, too easy. Thanks for the recipe made me look good as if knew what I was doing in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States