Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this soup yesterday and I think the final result was amazing. I don't have a slow cooker so I just simmered it in a covered pot for nine hours.I used canned everything, just like it called for, except the carrots and the potatoes, which I used fresh. I found a vegetable soup spice mix in the gravy section of the supermarket as I couldn't find the one recommended in the original recipe, and used a carton of beef broth instead of a can. Sirloin steak was on sale (cheaper than stewmeat) so I used that instead. The only other alteration was one cup of white cooking sherry. The result was fabulous!! Either I'm really drunk or this is the best soup I've ever made!! Well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Made it tonight, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Some of these reviews crack me up. If you don't like the ingredients, find another recipe! There are plenty of them on this site. Don't rate a recipe you haven't tried, people! ...Anyway, my family devoured this. We are not big fans of carrots, so instead of a can of carrots, I added a can of peas and carrots because the carrots were diced smaller. Plus, this gave me the opportunity to sneak peas in. That was the only change I made. Everyone loved it. Perfect easy, throw-together meal for a busy weeknight. Does NOT taste like canned soup, despite the canned ingredients....And veggies from a can are still veggies, and way better for you than the fast food alternative for a lot of busy families.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
SO easy and tastes great! I made it as written and only added some minced garlic. I will definitely be making this one again! Vegetable beef soup usually takes me forever to make (browning meat, chopping veggies etc) this was so simple and tasted pretty close to my labor intensive recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Fabulous soup! My mother-in-law lives with me and needs low-sodium meals, so I used my own defatted, low-sodium beef broth and added fresh, diced potatoes, fresh corn (cut right off the cob), and fresh, diced carrots. I added the canned green beans, a can of low-sodium crushed tomatoes (so many of the raters complained about the soup being too tomato-ey), about half an onion, sliced, and 2 cloves (unpeeled) of garlic. I used the beef stew meat and a package of onion soup mix. I lightly salted and heavily peppered! Cooked all day! Served with fresh Bisquick biscuits and watermelon.......Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I used fresh carrots, potatoes, frozen green beans and corn. I didn't have stew meat so I used cube steak which I broke up in pieces. I added extra seasoning as we like a little spicy, crushed red pepper and cajun seasoning. Simmered it all day - even my very fussy granddaughter said it was deliciious. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was delicious , husband said I can make it anytime. Followed almost exactly but added 2 cans of whole potatoes, only 14 ounce can of crushed tomatoes and could not find the beef with onion soup so used onion soup and added beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammarobe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
i always hate people that rate a recipe before trying but i have to say that i will try this recipe but add fresh veggies and some homemade buttermilk bisquits. this recipe sounds like a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I have it going on the stove (didn't' use slow cooker due to the timing). I didn't have stew meat on hand but had everything else. I had some cans of Beef in juice from a food basket I had recieved and didn't know what to do with it. I used that instead of the stew meat. I've sampled a bit of it while cooking and it tastes great. Makes alot for one person, but I'm probably going to freeze a couple of servings and also give my dad a container of it. Good way to use up excess of canned goods that are on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This recipe was fabulous and easy! My kids loved it and ate every bite. I substitued the veg-all instead of buying all of the different cans of vegetables and used onion soup mix since they didn't have beef onion at the store I was at. Added a can of beef broth since I didn't have the beef onion mix and also added a couple dashes of cayenne pepper and some celery that needed to be used up. The house smelled great and since I work late, when my husband came home from work, he was able to put a hot meal on the table for the kids before running off to soccer practice with my 3 & 4 year olds. For all of those who reviewed this recipe without trying or complained of the canned vegetables, they must not have a busy life like the rest of us. Stop being haters.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States