Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Loved this soup, though I must admit, I did modify it quite a bit. I used 1.5 lbs. stew meat, 1 bag each frozen sweet corn and frozen green beans, 1/2 small bag of carrots sliced, 1 bag golden honey potatoes, a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and 2 packages garlic and herb soup mix. To offset the lack of juice from the canned veggies, I added a 32oz box of beef broth. It was AMAZING! I am on a low sodium diet and so using fresh/frozen veggies is generally a must for me. I know I'm not rating the recipe "as is" but I feel that I kept the basic structure of the recipe and just subbed for fresh ingredients. Even my picky-eater husband loved it. This recipe was easy and tasty. I'm excited to see how the leftovers taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Sorry, I could only give this one star. Too many carrots, to much corn and way to salty with the soup mix. Just didn't have the taste of good old fashion vegetable soup. Tomato's over powered the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
It was okay, but I don't think I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
So easy to make that my 10 year old Grandson Shane loves to make it by himself. It's surprising if a child helps or makes a recipe they are more inclined to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SixPakLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very good and oh so easy !! next time i'll add a little crushed red pepper for a little more kick. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made this and would prefer a Ditalini pasta instead of the meat. My family was not thrilled with the soup. I thought it was good but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made only a couple minor tweeks to this soup, I used Hamburger instead of the Stew Meat, and used a smaller can (maybe 15oz) of crushed tomatoes. Was pretty good, and will put this in my soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Have made this twice Attempt #1 - as written, but used frozen veggies. Found it way too "tomatoey", but showing promise. Attempt #2 - much more to my liking! Doubled the recipe as follows: 2 Lbs stew meat (precut) - browned in hot skillet with olive oil 2 Cups each of frozen corn, peas, green beans 2 Cups cubed fresh carrots 1 Russet potato, cubed (one potato is enough for our liking) 1 28oz can crushed tomatoes (I would NOT add more than this...but that's me) 2 14oz cans beef broth + 1 can of water 3 Tbsp of homemade stew seasoning (if you don't have this, could simply add some onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper and maybe some crushed red pepper flakes) 2 bay leaves The beef broth and water add some nice liquid (especially important for leftovers). And I only cooked it for 5 hours and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
So simple, and so good. Added pasta last hour as well.Made enough to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States