Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This soup is so simple but delicious, and exactly what I was looking for. The only adaptations I made was to cook the beef in the broth first and add veggies later because I was not home during cooking and was afraid of coming home to overcooked mush. I also added lima beans. I froze half of it and it reheated very nicely. Welcome to the front of my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
So easy a five year old could do it! I have made this many times and always with rave reviews. I was concerend the firstt ime I made this, i thought I would come home to a bunch of unrecognizeable mush. I was pleasantly suprised. Will continue to make my vegatable soup only one way...THIS ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Amazing soup! I try to use as many fresh veggies as possible and add beef stock to make up for loss of liquid from the cans. I usually toss in a bay leaf or two for some extra flavor. The soup freezes well (the potatoes do lose some texture). I have had lots of compliments on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Have made this about six times now and the only changes I've made are to use a large 28oz can of plum tomatoes instead of crushed tomatoes. I drain all the vegetables (but not the tomatoes) and add one 14.5 oz. beef broth. The first time I made this the onions from the packaged soup mix were still hard so I don't put this into a slow cooker anymore I just heat on top of the stove for a few hours. I brown the stew meat throughly before adding all the canned vegetables. I cook about a half to three fourths cup of Kluski noodles, in salted water, then drain and add to the soup the last half hour of cooking. If I can find salt free or low sodium canned veggies/broth that is what I will use then add salt to taste. I've stopped making all the other vegetables soups because this one is the easiest and the best tasting soup by far. Thank you Judy G for submitting this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
It is so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Excellent soup! Never made vegetable beef soup before and made it just like the recipe except for following the suggestion that fewer tomatoes would be good. Next time I will add more corn because I like it in soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Missing flavor! I was not impressed with the flavor and the meat was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is EXCELLENT recipe for BUSY FAMILIES!! The first time I made it, it came out on the thicker side (maybe too much meat?), so I added a little corn starch/water mixture to thicken it even more; now it's VEGETABLE STOUP. The only thing I did differently was to add Oregano and a little Creole seasoning in place of salt. Served with Beer Bread (another to-die for recipe) & salad for a great meal!! ONE RECOMMENDATION: For a more tender, fall-off-the-bone meat, I recommend cooking it for at least 7-8 hours on low. After 6 hours, my meat was tender (and tasty), but after 7 hours, you could cut the meat with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great recipe! Omitted the carrots, threw in a few green peas & a little beef broth rather than water. Served with cornbread & a cobbler for dessert & my family about licked their bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used frozen vegetables and it was fabulous! I didn't have the canned veggies on hand, just the frozen mix. I was worried because of the reviews saying not to use frozen. I took into account the reviews saying there was too much of a tomato taste. Here's what I did, (and keep in mind it's mainly because I just used what I had on hand) 1 bag frozen mixed vegetables, I cut up 7 small red potatoes in very little pieces because they needed to be used, I also cut up one roma tomato for the same reason, 2 cans of beef broth to keep from getting the watered down taste from the frozen veggies, and 1 can of tomato soup. Everything else I did as directed. I added 1 can of broth first and then waited to see if I needed anymore liquid. About 4 hrs. in I added the second can and the soup to make it more soupy. Hope this helps someone that only has frozen vegetables on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States