Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is a great base recipe but I would do the following additions to add those layers of flavors. Salt and pepper and sprinkle flour into your meat. In a iron skillet with a little EVOO brown your meat. Don't crowd the pan. Add the meat to the crockpot. Then using the same skillet through in your onions and garlic, I mix it around bringing up those juices and meat leftovers on the bottom if the skillet. After a few minutes I add the beef stock to the skillet to bring up all that flavor from the bottom of the skillet. Transfer to the crockpot. Then add your soup with 1 can of water. Add your Worcestershire, salt and pepper to taste, rosemary, thyme and a dab of kitchen bouquet. I cook it for 8 hours in the slow cooker. Then 30 minutes or so prior to eating I sauté the mushrooms with some butter in an iron skillet then add that to the crockpot. Add Sour cream and a little cream cheese right before serving. I serve it over extra broad egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goalegrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My first thoughts when reading this recipe were: "Mmmm! But me thinks it needs some salt, pepper, and garlic." Then I read some of the reviews and decided to try it based on the modifications by some reviewers. It was fabulous! The sauce was perfect the way it turned out, so I didn't thicken it. Especially loved all the sauce with the egg noodles. 2 lbs bottom blade roast cut into large chunks, 2 cans golden mushroom soup, 1 pkg lipton onion soup mix, half cup low sodium beef broth, 1 large yellow onion, 4 cloves garlic, 1 tbsp worcestershire, half tsp salt, 2 tsp fresh ground black pepper, cooked on low 5 hours. Then 30 mins before finish time, added 4 oz cream cheese, 1 cup sour cream, 1 lb sauteed mushrooms in butter. Next time, will try 8 oz cream cheese, add a beef bullion cube, 2 tbsp worcestershire, and lots more black pepper. One helpful hint for time savings and less stress that worked for me...cut the beef and mix with all the ingredients (except cream cheese, sour cream, and sauteed mushrooms) in a mixing bowl, then cover, and refrigerate. Remove from fridge and pour into slow cooker when you're ready to start cooking. You could do this the night before so you don't have to rush in the morning, or prepare this in the early morning and throw in the slow cooker around 1:00PM so dinner will be ready around 6:00PM...you get the idea, have it all ready to pour in the slow cooker at whatever time is suitable for you so it will finish at least 5 hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made some serious changes to this recipe, I used three pounds of stew meat, I used two cans of golden mushroom soup. 1 whole pack of French onion soup. I sautéed the steak first in butter and vegetable oil. After the steak was sautéed I put the steak, soup, soup mix into the crock pot, then I cut up garlic and onion...added two tbsps flour to the steak/butter dripping and made a roux...I then added the onions and garlic to the drippings and stirred for about ten minutes on medium/high heat. I then added that to the crock pot with a dash of Worcestershire and 1/4 cup water, stirred and cooked for 6 hours...last hour of cooking I added sautéed mushrooms to the crock pot. Last five minutes of cooking I added sour cream and cream cheese (to taste). Served over egg noodles. The roux makes the difference here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
loved it!!!I did add extra soup, more onions and chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dineh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweetwater, Texas, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I really enjoyed this dish. I love the many suggestions but some are a complete change from this recipe and should be submitted as a new dish. If you follow this recipe as written, its really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I'm sorry for the ones that did not like this recipe, First I only read a few comments/reviews about this recipe. Pretty much it was a liked recipe. So I did alter it a little bit. I added fresh garlic, I used a different name brand of mushroom soup, I cooked fresh mushrooms and added that, with some beef broth and onion. I mixed all of these ingredients and then tasted it to get the right amount of salt and pepper then I added my meat that I seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, And let that set for a few hours. At the end of the cooking time that was when I thicken up the gravy. ....... My husband LOVED it and so did I. This is now in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have cooked this several times and it always turns out very good. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this recipe on a whim and really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, I did not know that my husband does not like anything with mushroom soup in it, so he didn't have any of it, no worries, though, he commented that it smelled really good and made the house smell wonderful on a cold night. I'll definitely make it again when I know he's not going to be around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My husband LOVES this! I did, however, use sour cream instead of the cream cheese, because I already had the sour cream. I wonder if using cream cheese would make it too rich and take away that "tang" from the sour cream. At any rate, the recipe was super easy and would make a great meal for a large family if the amounts were increased (although as it is it easily serves 4-6, depending on the size of your servings and if anyone wants seconds!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
easy great recipe ,made no changes was very tasty, but I added carrots only because we had a lot of carrots in fridge and used cream of mushroom soup , never even seen "golden mushroom soup" BUT only makes about 3 servings I would double the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States