Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
OK...I read the first two reviews and did make the changes. I HATE making changes to a recipe because I want to respect it. However, I don't have time for mistakes or issues with this family. With the slight changes, it was FABULOUS! Changed out water with beef broth. Sherry might actually make it good. Threw in half package of onion soup mix. Threw in beef cube. The one other thing...I'm going to DOUBLE the meat and possibly triple the sauce! :) It was gone too fast and I wanted leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Not bad, but not enough flavor for my taste (yes, I'm rating the recipe as printed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I don't normally care for beef stroganoff; however, I made this last night (with the recommendations from billyjean14)and loved it. I am reposting the recommendations from billyjean14 that I followed: I read almost all of the 400+ reviews and made modifications based on them. To save everyone else some time, here's what they say to do (and what I did...and it came out great): (1) add salt, pepper, and garlic, (2) double the sauce but keep the cream cheese and worcestershire the same, (3) use Golden Mushroom, not Cream of Mushroom or don't make this at all, (4) reduce the cooking time to about 5-6 hours on low, (5) add a "dollup" of sour cream when you add the cream cheese to get an extra "tang", (6) add a bullion cube, (7) add a half packet of onion soup mix, (8) serve over egg noodles, (9) add sauteed mushrooms about 1/2 an hour before serving. I know this isn't true to the original recipe, but I trusted others and I think it helped. Great slow-cooker recipe. I froze the leftovers (egg noodles and all) in my Seal-a-Meal and then just boiled the bag to reheat. It was great the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The best beef stroganoff we ever had and can't wait to eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this dish exactly like the recipe. This recipe is easy, but there wasn't enough meat. The Worcestershire gives it an unappealing after taste. Using cream cheese was not a good idea. The recipe should have called for sour cream. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was excellent. A few things. I think 1 pound of stew meat does not make enough for 4 servings. This was more like a generous 2 servings or a medium 3 servings. So I plan to make this again, but will buy more meat next time so that I have more meat to serve and not so much left over, unused sauce. This is a recipe I plan to make and share because it was easy, delicious and smelled so wonderful while it was cooking. Next time I will throw in some sauteed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe as-is. I make double for my family of 6. Not many leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Really good. I liked the cream cheese so much better than the traditional sour cream. Instead of using a crock pot, I sautéed the onions and thinly sliced sirloin first in a skillet, then added soup, water, and Worchestershire and simmered with lid on for 20 mins. I added cream cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I found this recipe 5 years ago and just now deciding I should add my two cents - I like to think I've perfected it, somewhat. For the more picky cook, it helps to brown your beef. No need to, but it definitely brings out more flavor. We're two guys so one pound of beef just doesn't cut it for wanting to have this for dinner for a few nights, so I sometimes double or triple the recipe, especially if we're having company. I toss in a bit more extra worcestershire sauce, like about one tablespoon extra. I've spent quite a bit of time in Russia and can tell you this little recipe would (and HAS) satisfied a picky Russian... and those Russians know their stroganoff! ;-) As others have said, a cube of beef bouillon doesn't hurt but if you think it needs more seasoning, go for it! I always add a touch of Cajun seasoning to spice it up a bit, but I have Cajun roots so, that's just me. Finally, I ALWAYS add mushrooms near the end. Take an 8oz or more pack of baby bellas, slices em up, toss them in a pan and sauté with some butter, then set aside. In the last hour or two of cooking, toss them in and stir. Seriously, you gotta do this. It adds the authentic stroganoff taste and texture and jacks up the recipe a bit if you're feeding a hungry family. Excellent recipe - this recipe is the reason I've become a slow cooker guy and I'd love to meet the person who posted it and shake their hands or give 'em a hug. It's just that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Idk what I did wrong. My first time cooking this outside of hamburger helper but it had little flavor. But the meat was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States