Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I read almost all of the 400+ reviews and made modifications based on them. To save everyone else some time, here's what they say to do (and what I did...and it came out great): (1) add salt, pepper, and garlic, (2) double the sauce but keep the cream cheese and worcestershire the same, (3) use Golden Mushroom, not Cream of Mushroom or don't make this at all, (4) reduce the cooking time to about 5-6 hours on low, (5) add a "dollup" of sour cream when you add the cream cheese to get an extra "tang", (6) add a bullion cube, (7) add a half packet of onion soup mix, (8) serve over egg noodles, (9) add sauteed mushrooms about 1/2 an hour before serving. I know this isn't true to the original recipe, but I trusted others and I think it helped. Great slow-cooker recipe. I froze the leftovers (egg noodles and all) in my Seal-a-Meal and then just boiled the bag to reheat. It was great the second time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7921 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I think i made it through about 900 reviews until i started to get a headache :) I cant stand having to go through dozens of pages of reviews to find the "5 star " version of the recipe! I am going to make this short and sweet. The recipe that is posted originally is really only a 1 star meal. After all the adjustments, substitutions, etc .. its 5 star fabulous. I have taken all the suggestions and advice from all the reviews and created this: INGREDIENTS 2 pound cubed beef stew meat or chuck roast 2 (10.75 ounce) can condensed golden mushroom soup 3/4 cup chopped onion 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce 1/4 cup water (more if needed) 1/4 cup low sodium beef stock (more if needed) 1/3 cup sour cream 2 ounces cream cheese (reduced fat works well) 1/2 pack French onion soup mix Salt and pepper, to taste 3 cloves garlic, minced 8oz. mushrooms, sliced Pat of butter DIRECTIONS 1. In slow cooker, combine meat, mushroom soup, chopped onions, minced garlic, Worcestershire, dry soup mix, pepper, stock and water. 2. Cook on low setting for 5-6 hours. 3. During cooking time, sauté the mushrooms in butter about 4 mins. 4. Put sautéed mushrooms in slow cooker last 30 minutes of cooking time 5. Check sauce if it needs salt or extra pepper. 6. Best served over buttered egg noodles. I think this came out fantastic. But again, its all about personal opinions and tastes. Let me know how this works out for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1842 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This is a WONDERFUL recipe! Make sure you do these 5 things, however: 1. Use "Condensed Golden Mushroom" soup. The regular Cream of Mushroom doesn't have the larger pieces of mushrooms. 2. Substitute 1/4 cup beef broth for 1/4 water. 3. Use 4 oz. sour cream instead of cream cheese. 4. Add 1/2 t. pepper for a tiny little (but necessary) kick. 4. Just before adding the sour cream, mix 1 T. corn starch with 2 T. cold water, then add this mixture to stroganoff. This gives it the necessary extra thickness. Then, enjoy this FABULOUSLY delicious and simple to make dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1704 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Wow! For my husband and I to agree that a dish is worthy of 5 stars is very rare. This was a great comfort food dinner, perfect after a very long day, so easy to make. And I have never made homemade stroganoff before! I made some changes, based on Jillybean14's review, who summed up the 500+ reviews on here (thank you!). To do what Jillybean did, and save others some time, here is what all these reviews say to do: 1)Add some salt,pepper, and garlic to the pot. 2) Double the meat. 3) Double the soup and water but keep worchestshire and cream cheese the same. 4)Add 1/2 packet onion soup mix to mixture. 5)Cook on LOW only for 5 hours. 6) Add a dollop of sour cream also when adding cream cheese. 7) Add sauteed fresh mushrooms (about 4-6 oz) 1/2 hr before serving. 8) Serve over egg noodles. I followed these suggestions, and now my husband, who is a big fan of Hamburger Helper, wants this instead and thinks I am the stroganoff goddess. =) A keeper for the recipe box! I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
746 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This recipe (and the reviewers of it) makes me very angry. If you change a bunch of things (or even one or two critical things) about a recipe IT IS NO LONGER THIS RECIPE!! I should not have to read through 50 reviews to know how to make this recipe at the rating it has received. I made no changes at all. It is awful. It is super concentrated with absolutely no sauce. The meat was all shredded up from cooking so long, and the flavor was FAR too salty. Don't make this recipe. If you've tried it with all the million alterations people have insisted you need to do in order for it to be good, then go ahead and submit that recipe to Allrecipes.com I'll try it -- and maybe it will deserve the nearly 5 stars this recipe has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
730 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I think I've found my new favorite comfort food. This was really good. I used 2 pounds of round steak (just don't like stew meat), 2 cans of golden mushroom soup, added some onion soup mix (for flavor), and 1/2 cup water (I like gravy). To help the cream cheese melt easier, cube and soften it before adding. I like the idea of using cream cheese rather than the traditional sour cream because if you're lucky enough to have leftvovers, it reheats nicer than sour cream. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
5 stars for a great easy recipe for the busy on-the-go parent! Doubled the sauce!!! Added 1/2 tsp of fresh minced garlic, 1/2 packet of dry Italian-style salad dressing and 1/2 packet of Lipton's dry onion/ beefy/ mushroom soup mix to give the stroganoff extra flavor complexity. Subbed low sodium beef broth for the water, and low sodium worcestershire for the regular. Added sauteed mushrooms 1/2 hour prior to the finish and stirred in sour cream to taste prior to serving! Helpful hint: Check the intensity of your crockpot as some are "hotter" than others and you may not need to cook the stroganoff the full 8 hours as the recipe lists. Thanks Jessica - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This tastes really good, but I found that because I floured and browned the meat (which naturally thickens the sauce) and added fresh mushrooms (which absorb a LOT of moisture), I increased the water to a full cup and still would have been happy with a thinner sauce. I liked the flavor enough to give this another try - this time no mushrooms and with a full soup can of water. I also think I'll use traditional sour cream instead - the cream cheese tasted very good, but I think the texture of the sour cream will suit my tastes better. That's the beauty of this recipe - it's a great place to take off & tinker to your preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
It really irks me when i come on here to get a good recipe with a good rating and people's reviews are all about the changes they made. I dont have time to read everyones reviews with all the changes to make this recipe "better'. Rate the recipes as is and if you have modifications or change then post a new recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! My husband is the pickiest eater there is and he loved this. Hamburger Helper Stroganoff has been my husband's favorite since he was a little boy. I hated making it but did for him, till last night, I put my foot down and told I wanted to try this recipe. He hates mushroom and I did not really think he would like it. He ate a HUGE bowl at dinner, then pulled out the leftovers shortly before going to bed and ate ANOTHER HUGE BOWL. He told me he like this more than his favorite stroganoff. I used some of the other suggestions. I keep the meat(1 lb.), worcestershire(1 tbls.), and cream cheese(4 oz) the same. I doubled the soup(2 cans) and water(1/2 cup).I omitted the onions (husband hates them) but I did add half a pack of the lipton onion soup mix. Thank you so much for this recipe. I am sure I will be making this for a LONG time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stegall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States