Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
The recipe and none of the reviews mentioned what size crockpot was used so I used my 6 qt crockpot and came home to find that half of my beef had burned because there wasn't enough liquid. I did double the sauce as other reviewers had suggested, I used two cans of soup, half a cup or water, half a cup of onion and other seasonings. I also added the boullion cube and found the sauce to be SO salty! I will try this again but I will add at least one cup of water (possibly more) next time. If you're going to follow this recipe as is or even if you're going to double the sauce use a crockpot that is smaller than 6 qt. A 4 qt would probably be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
If anyone out there made this according to the original recipe and rated it above 2 stars...then I have to assume that you haven't eaten for days on end or have had your taste buds surgically removed! Without tweaking the heck out of this "recipe" the end result is simply nasty! Here's my "tweak"...make this dish as originally presented. When the cooking time is up, throw it out immediately and order a pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I usually use fresh mushrooms and sour cream with a little flour, but the cream cheese is a great emergency save if you dont have sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written except I added minced garlic and beef bouillon. It tasted so bland. No one in the family liked it. It's a very poor representation of what real beef stroganoff should taste like. Highly recommend finding another recipe. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made all the substitution and additions suggested. It was ho-hum. The meat wasn't tender after 7 hours of cooking. The sauce was lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Sour cream much better than cream cheese,, very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wes McBride

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this recipe as written in the beginning and though it very bland. Tried to spice it up with garlic powder, onion powder and pepper, still not very flavorful, although we did like it. Sorry, but I have to give it only 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
The only reason this isn't getting 5 stars is because following the suggestions from other raters is how I got the very best stroganoff I've had! 2 cans of soup, add sour cream and 1/2 an onion soup packet, it is easy and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
After reading the reviews, we cooked this on LOW for 5-6 hours and added a beef bouillon while cooking. While I was cooking the egg noodles at the end, I added another can of golden mushroom soup, the 4 oz of cream cheese, a dollop of sour cream, some garlic powder and black pepper. I loved the sauce. Next time I’ll add at least one more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States